India vs Australia 1st Test: Cricket Australia announced their playing XI on the eve of the Adelaide Test and Marcus Harris is all set to make his debut but Mitchell Marsh does not find a spot in the squad, which is the only surprise from the hosts. In all probability, Marcus Harris will open the batting with his Victorian teammate Aaron Finch, who has played merely two Tests. The hosts will bank heavily on their pace battery which comprises of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood. Nathan Lyon, like Ravichandran Ashwin, will be the only spinner.

Australia’s playing XI: Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

The other two players apart from Marsh who does not find a spot in the XI are Chris Treman and veteran Peter Siddle. Mitchell Starc will lead the pace battery and he was spotted generating good pace and was sharp in the nets. India will also have to be watchful against Nathan Lyon who has a splendid record against India in Australia. He knows the Australian conditions better than most. The hosts will dearly miss Steve Smith, David Warner, senior players who are serving bans.

Explaining Marsh’s omission, Paine said: “We know he’s good enough to be a great allrounder at Test level but hasn’t quite put it together at Test level yet.”

“As this series wears on and you get to places where the wicket is a bit flatter and conditions a bit warmer and bowlers a little more tired, he might have more of a role to play.

“We’ll send him back to Shield, get some more cricket under his belt knowing at some stage we’re probably going to need him.

“The (Adelaide Oval) wicket over the last few years here has given enough throughout the game. We’ve got a lot of confidence in Nathan Lyon bowling the overs we need and all three of our quicks are going in very fresh.”

The tourists led by Virat Kohli has also announced a 12-member squad.

Team India’s 12 for the 1st Test against Australia in Adelaide: Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, M Vijay, C Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, R Pant (WK), R Ashwin, M Shami, I Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah