Top Recommended Stories

Australia Tour of South Africa 2020: Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh Earn Recall in Australia’s T20I, ODI Squads; Marcus Stoinis Not Picked

Maxwell will return to Australian colours for the first time since he took mental health break at the start of the summer last October.

Updated: February 4, 2020 1:38 PM IST

By Sports Desk | Edited by Aditya Chauhan

England vs Australia, England vs Australia live score, England vs Australia live score updates, England vs Australia live commentary, England vs Australia live score and updates, Eng vs Aus, Eng vs Aus live, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, David Warner, England vs Australia toss, England vs Australia timing, England vs Australia playing 11, Live score and updates
File image of Glenn Maxwell©CA Twitter

After a dominant run in Australia’s premier T20 competition – Big Bash League (BBL), experienced all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has returned to Australia’s limited-overs squad for South Africa tour later this month. Maxwell last played for Australia in October last year before taking a break from cricket, citing mental health issues. Maxwell played for franchise Melbourne Stars in the BBL.

Apart from Maxwell, Mathew Wade and Mitchell Marsh have also earned a shock recall for Australia’s ODI and T20I squads for South Africa series. Both Wade and Marsh have been included to both squads. This will be Marsh’s first outing in Australian colours since he fractured his hand after punching a wall after his dismissal in Sheffield Shield match.

You may like to read

Surprisingly, BBL’s ‘Player of the tournament’ Marcus Stoinis, who is also Maxwell’s teammate in Stars, has failed to find a spot in both the squads.

Stoinis finished as the BBL’s 2020 highest run-getter with 612 runs at an impressive average of 55.63 in the league stage. Meanwhile, he also broke the league record for the highest individual score, belting an unbeaten 147 from 79 balls at the MCG last month, and was also adjudged the ‘Player of the Tournament’.

“(Stoinis) was unlucky to miss out due to the makeup of the current top order,” Australia men’s national team selector Trevor Hohns was quoted as saying by the ICC.

“It is terrific to have a backup player of his calibre in such good form,” he added.

Australia will take on the Proteas in a three-match T20I series and as many ODIs’, starting February 21 in Johannesburg.

Australia T20I Squad: Aaron Finch (Captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Australia ODI Squad: Aaron Finch (Captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Cricket News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.