Australia vs India 2018, 2nd Test: India captain Virat Kohli once again called it wrong at the toss during the second Test against Australia in Perth. With this, Kohli joined few former renowned captains to find his name in a rather unlucky list in cricket’s most traditional format. This was Kohli’s ninth toss loss in this calendar year and he becomes only the third Indian captain to do so. Before Kohli, MS Dhoni (12 in 2010) and Sourav Ganguly (11 in 2002) are the only Indian captains who are ahead of him in the unwanted list.

Interestingly, this was also Kohli’s 8th toss loss on away tours in 2018 — the joint-most by any captain in a calendar year along with Ganguly (8 in 2002) and  West Indian great -Clive Lloyd (8 in 1980).

Earlier, Australia skipper Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat first in the second Test. Australia fielded an unchanged XI into the match, while India were forced into two changes following injuries to ace spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and hard-hitting batter Rohit Sharma. Rohit jarred his back in the field during the first Test, while Ashwin suffered a left-side abdominal strain.

They were replaced in the line-up by spin-bowling allrounder Hanuma Vihari, who only narrowly missed selection in Adelaide, and Umesh Yadav, who is the fastest bowler in the India touring party, meaning India boast four front-line quicks and only a part-time spinner in their XI.

The toss win marks a reversal of fortune for Australia captain Tim Paine who lost the toss in last week’s first Test in Adelaide, which India won by 31 runs. It presents a welcome change of fortune in the home side’s bid to level the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series at 1-1, and both captains said they would have batted first.