Australia vs India 2018 3rd Test: With four-match Test series perfectly poised at 1-1, India name their playing XI on Tuesday for the third Test against Australia in Melbourne, starting on December 26. After the loss at Perth, the Indian team management has made a string of changes in their playing XI as they have included Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja in the squad. Openers – KL Rahul and Murali Vijay along with pacer Umesh Yadav have been dropped from India’s XI. Domestic stalwart Mayank will finally be making his debut in the Indian team.

This time by naming the playing XI well in advance, Team India has broken the old norm of announcing the final 12 or 13 before a Test match. Earlier, the Indian cricket team is known to reveal their final XI only after the toss. Virat Kohli’s and Co. threw another surprise by announcing a sureshot playing XI a day before the Boxing Day Test.

Cheteshwar Pujara, skipper Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane form a formidable middle-order followed by Hanuma Vihari and Rishabh Pant, who will don the gloves once again for the Boxing Day Test.

The tourists started the series on an emphatic note by winning the first Test in Adelaide by 31 runs. However, India failed to continue the momentum and faltered badly in the second encounter where the Aussies registered a big win by 146 runs to level the series 1-1.

India (Playing XI) for 3rd Test: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia (Playing XI): Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine(wk/C), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood