Australia vs India 2018, 2nd Test Perth: After registering a historic win at the Adelaide, the focus has now been shifted to Perth where the second chapter of the much-talked-about the rivalry between India and Australia will begin. On Thursday, BCCI announced the 13-man squad for the second Test against Australia. The surprise exclusion of Rohit Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin have been the biggest talking point in the recently-announced squad. Both Rohit and Ashwin missed out due to an abdominal strain and a jarred lower back respectively.Also Read - Virat Kohli's Front Foot Game Is Not Helping His Cause: Sanjay Manjrekar Points Out Key Technical Glitch In His Batting

Ashwin’s absence will be a big blow for Kohli-led India as he played a crucial role in their victory in Adelaide. The veteran off-spinner Ashwin produced a stellar show in the first Test where he picked up six wickets for the visitors. All-rounder Hanuma Vihari, who played crucial knocks in India’s only warm-up match against Cricket Australia XI have been picked in place of Rohit in the team. Also Read - IPL 2022: Jos Buttler Serves Up Final Fare For RR vs GT; Virat Kohli, RCB Miss Party

Injured Prithvi Shaw has once again failed to make the cut as he is yet to fully recover from an ankle injury which he sustained during the warm-up tie. Unfortunate to miss out from India’s playing XI in Adelaide, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has included in the 13-member team for Perth encounter. In the swing and seam-friendly conditions, Bhuvneshwar could prove to be the difference for the tourists against unsure hosts. Also Read - RCB vs RR Highlights Scorecard IPL 2022: Buttler's 100 Confirms Rajasthan's Ticket To IPL Final

“Ashwin has a left-sided abdominal strain. He is receiving treatment at the moment. He has been ruled out of the second Test,” a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) statement said.

“Rohit Sharma jarred his lower back while fielding in the first Test at Adelaide. He is undergoing treatment. He too is ruled out of the second Test,” it added.

The BCCI also said that teenage sensation Shaw is recovering well from his left ankle injury but still undergoing treatment. The Adelaide win was India’s first in Down Under since 2008. Interestingly, it was the first time India won the opening Test of a series in Australia in 70 years.. Chasing 323, the hosts were bowled out for 291 in 119.5 overs shortly before tea on day five with Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami taking three wickets each for a 1-0 lead in the four-match series.

India name 13-man squad for 2nd Test: Virat Kohli (C), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav