Australia once again dished out a comprehensive performance as they beat Pakistan by 220 runs in the third and final Test at Sydney. Chasing an improbable target of 465, Pakistan were bundled out on final day for 244. Sarfraz Ahmed was the only Pakistan batsman to go past 50, and he remained unbeaten on 72. With this win, Australia clean sweep Pakistan in the three-match Test series. Also Catch- Australia vs Pakistan 3rd Test 2017 Full Scorecard Also Read - IPL 2020 Mid-Season Transfer: Josh Hazlewood or Lockie Ferguson to Replace Bhuvneshwar Kumar at SRH?

Resuming on an overnight score of 55 for one, Pakistan were looking to survive the day. However, things started on a shaky note when Josh Hazlewood removed Azhar Ali (11) in the first over of the day. Azhar failed to add anything to his overnight tally. Also Read - MI vs CSK IPL 2020: Will Josh Hazlewood, Sam Curran be Available For Selection Amid COVID Protocols, SOP's?

Few overs later, Hazlewood further dented Pakistan as he trapped Babar Azam (9) in front of the wickets. After Hazlewood’s early strikes, it was the spin duo of Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe who made things worse for Pakistan. While Lyon accounted for the prized wicket of Younis Khan (13), O’Keefe dismissed nightwatchman Yasir Shah (13) to leave Pakistan at 96 for five. Also Read - IPL 2020: Australia Pacer Josh Hazlewood Admits to Concerns Over Coronavirus Outbreak in Chennai Super Kings Camp

Captain Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq then tried to hold Pakistan innings together and took their side to 128 for five at lunch on day five. But after the lunch break, the duo was separated when Mitchell Starc removed Shafiq (30). Also Check- Australia vs Pakistan 2016/17 – Schedule

Misbah and Sarfraz Ahmed kept things going with a half-century stand, but that was not enough for Pakistan. Looking to go against spinner O’Keefe, Pakistan skipper perished as he was caught near mid-off. Misbah scored 38 and was looking good before he played a rash stroke.

Pakistan tail did not show any resistance this time around with Wahab Riaz (12), Mohammad Amir (5) and Imran Khan (0) all falling cheaply. Sarfraz entertained the crowd with his stroke-making towards the end and finished unbeaten.

For Australia, Hazlewood and O’Keefe picked three wickets each while Lyon had two wickets against his name. Starc managed lone wicket of Shafiq. Also Read- West Indies security delegation to visit Pakistan next month

David Warner was awarded Man of the Match for his brilliant century and half-century in the first and second innings respectively. Australian captain Steven Smith walked away with Man of the Series award.

The two sides will now battle it out in the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series, starting January 13.