Ballon d’Or 2018: Croatia’s Luka Modric became the first footballer apart from Argentina’s Lionel Messi and Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo to win the award since 2007. Modric was a clear winner with 753 points, finishing second in the race was Ronaldo with 476 points, and he was followed by Belgium’s Antoine Griezman (414). France’s young star Kylian Mpabbe (347) finished fourth. Also Read - Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo? Former Liverpool And Man Utd Star Michael Owen Weighs in on Football's Biggest Debate

Modric at 33, won his third successive Champions League in May before helping Croatia to a first World Cup final. Also Read - ATL vs BAR Dream11 Team Tips And Predictions, LaLiga: Football Prediction Tips For Today’s Atletico Madrid vs Barcelona on November 22 Sunday

The top 10

1. Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia) Also Read - It Was a Dream to Play Alongside 'Only Number One' Lionel Messi: Ivan Rakitic

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)

4. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

7. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid and France)

8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium)

9. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

10. Harry Kane (Tottenham and England)

The other names that made it to the top ten were Lionel Messi, Mohammad Salah, Harry Kane, Eden Hazard, Kevin de Bruyne, Raphael Varane.

Both Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017) and Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015) have won the Ballon d’Or prize the most number of times – five each, in the last decade.

2007KakaCristiano RonaldoLionel Messi
2008Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFernando Torres
2009Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2010Lionel MessiAndres IniestaXavi
2011Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2012Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoAndres Iniesta
2013Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFranck Ribery
2014Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiManuel Neuer
2015Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoNeymar
2016Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiAntoine Griezmann
2017Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiNeymar
2018Luka ModricCristiano RonaldoAntoine Griezmann

The last time someone other than Ronaldo or Messi won the coveted prize, was in 2007 when Brazilian Kaka, who was representing AC Milan at the time, walked away with the crown

The coveted award has been in existence 1956, although between 2010 and 2015, it was named as the FIFA Ballon d’Or after being joined with the FIFA World Player of the Year.