Bangladesh have denied New Zealand’s request to play a day-night Test on their tour next year on the insistence of the team management.

Bangladesh will travel to New Zealand in early February next year where they would be playing three ODIs and as many Tests at Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch. And New Zealand Cricket (NZC) had hoped to schedule the opening Bangladesh Test at Seddon Park as a day-night fixture but could not obtain agreement from the Bangladesh Cricket Board and was forced to revert to the traditional hours-of-play, revealed the country’s cricket board on Tuesday.

BCB chairman Nizamuddin Chowdhury said it will take at least one more year for Bangladesh to consider playing day-night Tests. “After an approach made by the New Zealand board, we spoke to our team management,” Chowdhury told ESPNcricinfo. “We have been seeing it positively but since our players don’t have an opportunity to play day-night matches in domestic longer-version tournaments, we felt that it wouldn’t be right to play a day-night Test,” he added.

The BCB wants to play day-night Tests only after having introduced it more regularly in domestic four-day tournaments.

“We are looking to try pink ball at the domestic level first, and then play a day-night Test at home. After that, we want to play day-night in away Tests,” Chowdhury said. “We will hold discussions at the policy level at the board, as well as with the players when they return from West Indies,” he added.

This is the second time that Bangladesh have turned down New Zealand’s request to play day-night Test. Earlier, NZC had in 2016 made a similar offer which was turned down.

Bangladesh and India are the only Test-playing nations apart from Ireland and Afghanistan to not have played a day-night Test yet. Zimbabwe became the latest team to join the list when they played South Africa in a four-day day-night Test last December.

Bangladesh, which at the weekend flagged its threat with a 2-1 ODI series win in the West Indies – it’s first overseas series win in the 50-over format for nine years, are currently involved in the three-match T20I series against Windies.