Bangladesh Women scripted history after beating India Women by 3 wickets in the last ball of the match to win the Twenty20 Women’s Asia Cup for the first time. Earlier, Bangladesh Women won the toss and predictably opted to field first, keeping their last successful chase against India in mind. India did not get off to the best of starts losing Mandhana (7) with the score on 12.

That early wicket put the screws on the Indian batswomen who found it difficult to score freely. Mithali (11) too did not last long. With two openers back in the hut, India was always playing catch up. With India on the backfoot, captain Harmanpreet Kaur stepped it up as he bludgeoned her way to a commendable 56 off 42 balls.

It is her innings that took India to some respectability and gave their bowlers something to work with. India women scored 112 in 20 overs. Khadija and Rumana bagged two wickets apiece and were the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers.

Chasing a paltry 113 to clinch the coveted Twenty20 Women’s Asia Cup 2018, Bangladesh Women got off to a steady start, they were 33 for no loss at the end of 6 overs.

But soon things changed after the powerplay overs, Bangladesh were reduced to 55 for 3 in no time. Sultana (16), Ayasha (17) and Fargana (11), all fell prey to some superb bowling by Poonam Yadav.

But since those three wickets fell, there was a timely partnership stitched between Nigar Sultana and Rumana. They took their time and more importantly made sure they weathered the storm. The fourth wicket fell with the score on 87, Sultana (27) was dismissed by, who else, Poonam Yadav got the breakthrough. That was her 4th wicket. She was living a dream.

Soon, Bangladesh lost another wicket of Fahima Khatun, she scored a quick 9 off 7 balls and it was the golden arm of the Indian captain Harmanpreet that did the job. Not a bad contribution in the circumstances of the game.

It finally boiled down to the last over with Bangladesh needing 9 off 6 with five wickets in hand. Bangladesh Women win Asia Cup 2018 by 3 wickets, it was the last ball finish.