New Delhi: The BCCI’s Senior National Selection Committee on Friday announced the Indian squad for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final and the five-match Test series against England. The final of the ICC World Test Championship will be held at The Rose Bowl, Southampton followed by the five-match England series. Also Read - Southampton Weather Forecast June 22 India vs New Zealand Day 5 WTC Final: Rain Expected to Play Spoilsport Once Again

While Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja returned to the Indian squad, allrounder Hardik Pandya failed to make it to the jumbo squad. Another surprise omission was Kuldeep Yadav, who failed to find a spot for the upcoming Test series against England and the WTC final. Mayank Agarwal was able to retain his place along with Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur. Also Read - IND vs NZ: Kevin Pietersen Takes Dig at ICC Over Scheduling of WTC Final in Southampton, Suggests Another Venue For 'Incredibly Important Match'

While Pandya’s exclusion from the Test squad didn’t come as a surprise to many as his selection was subject to bowling fitness, Kuldeep failed to retain his spot owing to his poor outing in the home series against England in the limited-overs edition. Also Read - MATCH HIGHLIGHTS IND vs NZ WTC Final, Today DAY 4 Cricket Updates: Reserve Day in Focus as Play Abandoned Due to Rain in Southampton

Virat Kohli will be leading the side with Ajinkya Rahane as his deputy. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill are all set to open the batting for India, followed by the dependable Cheteshwar Pujara.

KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha’s selections are subject to fitness clearance.

Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla have been kept as standby players.

India’s squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Gill, Mayank, Cheteshwar Pujara, H. Vihari, Rishabh (WK), R. Ashwin, R. Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Bumrah, Ishant, Shami, Siraj, Shardul, Umesh.

Standby Players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla