Indian Premier League 2019: The 12th edition of the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) will be played in India and is set to begin from March 23. Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) announced the decision on Tuesday, with the final decision on the number of matches set to announced at a later date. “The CoA will have detailed discussion with all the Stakeholders before releasing the IPL 2019 schedule,” said the BCCI release.

“Based on the preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state agencies/authorities, it was decided that the 12th edition of the world’s most popular and competitive T20 tournament will be scheduled to be played in India. It is proposed that the VIVO IPL 2019 will commence on March 23, 2019. The detailed schedule will be finalised in consultation with the appropriate authorities,” a statement from the CoA said.

The detailed schedule of the tournament will be confirmed later after proper consultation with the appropriate authorities. The COA will then have detailed discussion with all the Stakeholders before releasing the IPL 2019 Schedule. The venue of one of the most followed T20 leagues was a matter of major debate since the dates are set to clash with the general elections. It is expected that the general election are scheduled to take place in the month of May this year.

The IPL franchises were informed of the decision. “We have just been informed that the IPL will be played in India and that it’s start date, just like the information in the press release. Rest of the details we were told that we’ll be informed soon,” JSW Sports CEO Mustafa Ghouse said.

In the past as well, IPL has been moved overseas twice as it clashed with general elections in India. In 2009, the second edition of the tournament was played entirely in South Africa, while in 2014, the early rounds were played in the UAE before the tournament moved back to India.