The 2018 edition of the Caribbean Premier League will start on August 8 Wednesday. A total of 34 games will be played in the tournament which will culminate with the finals to be played on September 16. Also Read - Pravin Tambe, 48-year-old Spinner, Becomes First Indian Cricketer to Play in Caribbean Premier League

In an attempt to make T20 cricket more exciting, the organisers of the CPL have made few changes in the existing rules which will be applicable in this season of the tournament. Also Read - CPL 2020, Live Streaming, Schedule & All You Need to Know

In CPL 2018, the decision as to which team bats first in case of a super over will be decided through a coin toss. According to the earlier rules, the team which batted second in a tied match, automatically become eligible to bat first in the super over. Also Read - IPL 2020: CPL Players Will Definitely Have an Edge Over Their IPL Teammates, Feels Former RCB Coach Ashish Nehra

The second change which the fans will be able to witness during the league is the penalty for slow over rate. In general, a team found guilty of slow over rate, is fined a certain per cent of its match fee. However, in  CPL 2018, slow over-rate will now affect the Net Run Rate (NRR) of a team, thereby hampering its chances of making progress in the tournament.

According to the changed rules, if a team fails to complete their overs within the allotted time frame then, as a penalty, 0.05 points will be deducted from their net run that could affect their chances of moving ahead in the tournament. For every additional over, the teams will face a supplementary deduction of 0.10 points from the net run rate.

The specified time for completing 20 overs is 85 minutes plus the additional time allotted by the umpires in certain circumstances.

Reflecting on the changes, operation director of CPL, Michael Hall had said that they are trying their best to ensure fair playing conditions and he hoped that the changes would prove beneficial for the league. “We work hard each year to ensure that playing conditions are making the competition as fair as possible while also keeping the spectators and viewers at home entertained,” quoted Hall, as saying.

“We feel both of these changes will help with both of these goals,” he added.

The CPL 2018 commences with trophy holders Trinbago Knight Riders locking horns with St Lucia Stars in Port-of-Spain. The final will be played on September 16 at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, Trinidad.

CPL 2018 Squads

Six teams- Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Stars and Trinbago Knight Riders will lock horns for the championship. Trinbago Knight Riders, co-owned by Shah Rukh Khan, won the last edition of the league.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Malik, Chadwick Walton, Cameron Delport, Rayad Emrit, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Luke Ronchi, Veerasammy Permaul, Roshon Primus, Shimron Hetmyer, Devendra Bishoo, Gajanand Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Saurabh Netravalkar, Akshaya Persaud, Chris Green.

Barbados Tridents

Martin Guptill, Shakib Al Hasan, Hashim Amla, Dwayne Smith, Jason Holder(c), Nicholas Pooran, Wahab Riaz, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Tion Webster, Imran Khan, Shamar Springer, Sunny Sohal, Chemar Holder, Dominic Drakes, Steven Smith, Mohammad Irfan.

St Lucia Stars

Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Rumman Raees, Andre Fletcher, Mitchell McClenaghan, Kesrick Williams, Niroshan Dickwella, Rahkeem Cornwall, Qais Ahmad, Kavem Hodge, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Dasun Shanaka, Christopher Lamont, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Jaskaran Malhotra, David Warner.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Imad Wasim, David Miller, Ross Taylor, Rovman Powell, Samuel Badree, Kemar Roach, Glenn Phillips, Andre McCarthy, Krishmar Santokie, Johnson Charles, Steven Taylor, Kennar Lewis, Steven Jacobs, Oshane Thomas, Kirstan Kallicharan, Elmore Hutchinson.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Dwayne Bravo, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper, Nikita Miller, Anderson Phillip, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel, Fawad Ahmed.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Mahmudullah, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tom Cooper, Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Devon Thomas, Graeme Cremer, Fabian Allen, Shamarh Brooks, Sandeep Lamichhane, Jeremiah Louis, Alzarri Joseph, Ibrahim Khaleel, Javelle Glen.

CPL 2018: Where to watch

The CPL 2018 matches will be telecast on Sony Six and Sony Six HD on TV in India. Fans can also watch the CPL 2018 live streaming on Sony Liv app and website.

CPL 2018: Full Schedule

DateCPL FixturesVenue
8 AugustTrinbago Knight Riders vs St Lucia StarsQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
9 AugustGuyana Amazon Warriors vs St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsProvidence Stadium, Guyana
10 AugustTrinbago Knight Riders vs Jamaica TallawahsQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
11 AugustGuyana Amazon Warriors vs St Lucia StarsProvidence Stadium, Guyana
11 AugustTrinbago Knight Riders vs St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
12 AugustGuyana Amazon Warriors vs Barbados TridentsProvidence Stadium, Guyana
14 AugustJamaica Tallawahs vs St Lucia StarsSabina Park, Jamaica
15 AugustJamaica Tallawahs vs St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsSabina Park, Jamaica
16 AugustSt Lucia Stars vs Trinbago Knight RidersDarren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia
17 AugustSt Lucia Stars vs Barbados TridentsDarren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia
18 AugustJamaica Tallawahs vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsCentral Broward Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida
19 AugustJamaica Tallawahs vs Trinbago Knight RidersCentral Broward Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida
21 AugustSt Lucia Stars vs St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsDarren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia
22 AugustJamaica Tallawahs vs Barbados TridentsCentral Broward Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida
24 AugustSt Lucia Stars vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsDarren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia
25 AugustBarbados Tridents vs St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsKensington Oval, Barbados
25 AugustSt Lucia Stars vs Jamaica TallawahsDarren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia
26 AugustBarbados Tridents vs Trinbago Knight RidersKensington Oval, Barbados
28 AugustSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsWarner Park, St Kitts
29 AugustBarbados Tridents vs Jamaica TallawahsKensington Oval, Barbados
30 AugustSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs St Lucia StarsWarner Park, St Kitts
31 AugustBarbados Tridents vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsKensington Oval, Barbados
1 SeptemberSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Trinbago Knight RidersWarner Park, St Kitts
2 SeptemberBarbados Tridents vs St Lucia StarsKensington Oval, Barbados
2 SeptemberSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Jamaica TallawahsWarner Park, St Kitts
4 SeptemberSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Barbados TridentsWarner Park, St Kitts
5 SeptemberTrinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
7 SeptemberTrinbago Knight Riders vs Barbados TridentsQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
8 SeptemberGuyana Amazon Warriors vs Jamaica TallawahsProvidence Stadium, Guyana
9 SeptemberGuyana Amazon Warriors vs Trinbago Knight RidersProvidence Stadium, Guyana
11 SeptemberPlayoff 1 (1st vs 2nd)Providence Stadium, Guyana
12 SeptemberPlayoff 2 (3rd vs 4th)Providence Stadium, Guyana
14 SeptemberSemi-final (Playoff 2 winner vs Playoff 1 loser)Brian Lara Stadium, Trinidad
16 SeptemberCPL 2018 FinalBrian Lara Stadium, Trinidad

The matches will be played across the Caribbean Islands and three games are to be played at Lauderhill in Florida, USA.