Cricket Australia announced a 13-man squad for Australia’s tour of Bangladesh. The team will be led by Steve Smith. Among the key players, Mitchell Starc will miss the upcoming tour as he is still recovering from a fractured foot. He has given rest with an Ashes campaign on the card. Also Read - RR vs MI 2020, IPL Today Match Report: Ben Stokes Slams Hundred as Rajasthan Royals Beat Mumbai Indians by 8 Wickets to Keep Playoff Hopes Alive

James Pattinson returned to the Test squad for the first time since February 2016, having completed a successful comeback from injury. The squad has also featured all-rounder Hilton Cartwright, one of three allrounders alongside incumbent No.6 Glenn Maxwell and left-arm spinner Ashton Agar. Also Read - Joe Root Calls Virat Kohli as The Most Complete Player Across Formats

Agar is set to play a prominent role as Nathan Lyon’s spin pair after Steve O’keefe was dropped from the squad which lost to India 2-1 earlier this year. Also read: Champions Trophy 2017: Find out how invisible MS Dhoni help India to win against Bangladesh Also Read - IPL 2020, Match 45 Preview: Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians

Although O’Keefe claimed 19 wickets for the series alongside Lyon, National Selector Trevor Hohns pointed out that the tweaker’s performance dipped in the final three Tests, with only seven wickets captured after his record 12-70 in the first Test in Pune.

“Whilst Steve O’Keefe bowled well in Pune, he did not maintain this level in the remaining matches of the series and we believe the timing is right for Ashton to enter the set-up and test his all-rounder ability,” Hohns said.

“Ashton has continued to impress us with his form and we believe his bowling is at a level where he deserves to be playing on the highest stage.  “He will work nicely in tandem with Nathan Lyon and also brings a great all-around package to the team.” Also read: Champions Trophy 2017: Virat Kohli is surprised after not seeing resistance from Bangladesh

The squad also featured Usman Khawaja, who didn’t play during India tour, has been retained in the squad but there is no room for veteran batsman Shaun Marsh.

The first Test of the two-match series will be at Dhaka (22-31 August) while the second and final Test will be played at Chittagong from 4 September to 8 September.

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Matthew Renshaw, Matthew Wade