New Zealand thrashed top-ranked India on the third day of the second and final Test in Christchurch by nine wickets for a 2-0 series sweep on Monday. New Zealand sauntered to the target of 132 with openers Tom Latham (52) and Tom Blundell (55) hitting half-centuries. Also Read - BCCI's Double Standards Exposed? Board Arranges Personal COVID19 Test For Virat Kohli And Co., Asks Women Players to Bring Their Own Reports

The manner in which New Zealand openers chased down what was never going to be a threatening target highlighted the abject failure of Indian batsmen who crossed a total in excess of 200 just once across their four completed innings of the Test series. Also Read - WTC Final: Are You Going to Take Virat Kohli's Wicket? Fan Asks Tim Southee Ahead of Ind vs NZ Clash

Resuming on their overnight total of 90/6, India lost Hanuma Vihari after addition of seven runs to their total to Tim Southee (3/36). Rishabh Pant (4) followed him in the next over, outfoxed by Trent Boult (4/28) with an outswinger. Also Read - Salman Butt Responds to Michael Vaughan's 'Match Fixer' Comment After he Slammed Him Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson Comparisons

Ravindra Jadeja hit a four and six after being dropped, a rare mistake from an otherwise clinical New Zealand,  and remained unbeaten on 16 as India were bowled out for 124.

Latham then struck 10 fours in his 74-ball 52 before falling to Umesh Yadav. Jasprit Bumrah then struck in quick succession with two superb deliveries.

The first, a sharp bouncer that New Zealand captain Kane Williamson (5) failed to avoid with the ball lobbing off his gloves to the gully fielder. Blundell, who reached his half-century with a boundary, received one that came in sharply from off and sneaked through the gates to knock down the off-stump.

The two wickets from Bumrah must have added to India’s frustration as they would have left wondering what if they had another 100 runs to defend.

Brief Scores: New Zealand 235 and 132/3 (Tom Blundell 55, Tom Latham 52; Jasprit Bumrah 2/39) beat India 242 and 124 (Cheteshwar Pujara 24; Trent Boult 4/28) by 7 wickets