The Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Wednesday became the second neutral venue in India to host a Test match.Also Read - Taliban Appoint Ex-Cricketer Mirwais Ashraf as Acting ACB Chief

Afghanistan, who play their ‘home games’ in India, are playing West Indies in a one-off Test at the stadium where the two teams earlier played three ODIs and three T20Is. Also Read - Gautam Gambhir on Virat Kohli-Led India's Early Exit in T20 WC, Says Things Could Have Been Played Better

The first neutral venue to host a Test in the country was Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun where also Afghanistan were the home team, hosting Ireland for a one-off Test in March this year. Also Read - Rashid Khan Becomes Youngest Bowler to Take 400 T20 Wickets, Joins Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine in Elite List

The Test got underway from Wednesday with West Indies opting to bowl first.

Overall, the Ekana Cricket Stadium is 11th such venue internationally. Dubai International Cricket Stadium and Sheikh Zayed Stadium (Abu Dhabi) have played host to the maximum number of 13 neutral Tests so far.

Sharjah Cricket Stadium has hosted 9 followed by the Lord’s, where two such Tests have been played.

S. noVenueNo. of TestsYear
1Dubai International Cricket Stadium132010-18
2Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi132010-18
3Sharjah Cricket Stadium92002-16
4Lord’s London21912-2010
5Trent Bridge, Nottingham11912
6Old Trafford, Manchester11912
7Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka11999
8P Sara Oval, Colombo12002
9Headingley, Leeds12010
10Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun12019
11Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow12019