Australian opener David Warner won the prestigious Allan Border Medal for being the best male Australian cricketer on Monday during Australia’s annual cricket awards for 2019. During his speech, while receiving the award, he got emotional as he went on to thank his fans who helped him during his bad times and also spoke about Indian captain Virat Kohli, who he said is loved by his three daughters. Also Read - David Warner Drops Retirement Hints, Considers Giving up T20I Format to Prolong Career in Test, ODIs

“I realised a lot of things during that time off that we don’t actually understand or realise when we’re in this bubble, the importance of what this game is and the smiles on the faces that we bring to a lot of people. Having three daughters at home, looking up to guys like ‘Smithy’, ‘Cummo’ — playing cricket in the backyard they’re yelling out Virat Kohli’s name — but these are the smiles on kids’ faces that we put on,” Warner was quoted by

During the mention of Kohli, the cameras panned towards premier Australian batsman Steve Smith, who has spotted passing a warm smile which would come as a treat for fans.

From the brain-fade moment in 2015 to the 31-year-old Indian skipper egging on a crowd during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 that was booing Smith, the two have had a mixed history.

“In the World Cup, it was really nice of Virat to do what he did. He did not have to do that and yeah it was a lovely gesture and really appreciated that,” said Smith to IANS over the ICC CWC 2019 episode involving Kohli.

While Warner won his third Allan Border Medal, the prestigious Belinda Clarke medal went to Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry for being the best Australian women cricketer in 2019. Alyssa Healy bagged both Women’s ODI and T20I Player of the Year, and the Men’s Test Player of the Year went to Marnus Labuschagne – who was the highest run-getter in Tests in 2019.

Full list of awards:

Male One Day International Player of the Year: Aaron Finch
Female One Day International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy
Hall of Fame Induction: Sharon Tredrea
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Tayla Vlaeminck
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Wes Agar
Male Test Player of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne
Community Champion Award: Corinne Hall
Female Domestic Player of the Year: Molly Strano
Male Domestic Player of the Year: Shaun Marsh
Hall of Fame Induction: Craig McDermott
Female International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy
Male International Twenty20 Player of the Year: David Warner
Belinda Clark Award: Ellyse Perry
Allan Border Medal: David Warner