New Delhi, April 9: Former Hyderabad captain David Warner wished the Hyderabad franchise best for their clash with Ajinkya Rahane-led Rajasthan later today. Warner, who was the first choice captain for Hyderabad was barred from participating in the lucrative T20 tournament after he was found the chief plotter of the ball tampering scandal against South Africa which saw him being banned by Cricket Australia for 12 months. Also Read - David Warner Groin Injury Update: Australian Cricketer Would Play For NSW in March, IPL Confirmation Awaited

However, Warner said: “Good luck to my friends @SunRisers play well tonight.” Also Read - David Warner Pokes Fun at Glenn Maxwell Over His Rs 14.25 Cr IPL Contract With RCB During New Zealand-Australia T20I Game

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson was named the stand-in skipper for Hyderabad. He will take on Rajasthan in the inaugural contest, the franchise which is now led by Rahane following the dismissal of former Australia captain Steve Smith, who was one of the trio involved in the sandpaper gate.

Meanwhile, Williamson, who has failed to cement his place in the playing XI for the franchise as part of their foreign player quota, has been associated with the team since 2015.

Hyderabad Squad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan Arman, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Kane Williamson, Carlos Brathwaite, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Tanmay Agarwal