Top Recommended Stories

Down Memory Lane: India’s Triumphs In U-19 World Cup

The most successful nation at the Under-19 level, India bagged a record-extending fifth title in the 14th ICC Men's U-19 Cricket World Cup.

Published: February 6, 2022 9:34 AM IST


Indian Cricket team, IND vs ENG, U-19 World Cup, U-19 World Cup News, U-19 World Cup Updates, Indian in U-19 World Cup, U-19 World Cup History, Indian History in U-19 World Cup, Indian Cricket Team, Team India, Indian Cricket Updates, Indian Best Players in U-19 World Cup, All Time Best Players in U-19 World Cup, U-19 World Cup best team, U-19 World Cup Indian Trumphs, U-19 World Cup All Seasons, Yash Dhull, Raj Bawa, Ravi Kumar, Mohammad Kaif, Mohammad Kaif's Under19 World Cup, Virat Kohli, Virat Kohli News, Virat Kohli Updates, Virat Kohli in U19 World Cup, Virat Kohli U19 World Cup Winner, Unmukt Chand, Unmukt Chand News, Unmukt Chand Updates, Unmukt Chand Indian Cricketer, Unmukt Chand India, Team india, Unmukt Chand Under19 World Cup, Unmukt Chand U19 World Cup, Prithvi Shaw, Prithvi Shaw News, Prithvi Shaw Updates, Prithvi Shaw U19 World Cup, Prithvi Shaw U19 World Cup Winner, Indian U19 Winning Skippers, Indian All time U19 Skippers List, Indian U19 WInner Skippers List
Down Memory Lane: India's Triumphs In U-19 World Cup (Credits IndiacomTwitter)

Antigua: The most successful nation at the Under-19 level, India bagged a record-extending fifth title in the 14th ICC Men’s U-19 Cricket World Cup, beating England in by four wickets in the final at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium here.

Also Read:

After a superb bowling performance by Raj Bawa (5/31) and Ravi Kumar (4/34) helped bowl out England for 189 despite a fighting 95 by James Rew, India rode on half-centuries by Shaik Rasheed (50) and Nishant Sindhu (50 not out) to reach 195/6 in 47.4 overs and win the match by four wickets.

You may like to read

Besides winning the five titles, the Indian colts have also finished runners-up thrice — 2006, 2016 and 2020.

India bagged their first title in 2000 in what was the third edition of the event when Mohammad Kaif’s side beat hosts Sri Lanka by six wickets in Colombo.

Kaif’s India restricted Sri Lanka to 178 after the hosts elected to bat and then chased the target with ease, thanks to an unbeaten 39 by Reetinder Singh Sodhi and 27 by Yuvraj Singh, who was eventually adjudged the ‘Man of the Series’. Sodhi received the ‘Man-of-the-Match’ award. The excellent fielding by the Indians, who affected four run-outs, was the highlight of the first innings.

Their next title in the biennial event came in 2008 in Malaysia when the team led by Virat Kohli defeated South Africa U-19 by 12 runs via D/L Method to win the country’s second U-19 World Cup crown.

It was a brilliant performance by the bowlers that clinched the title for India in a tense match that was cut short by rain. Bowled out by South Africa for 159 at Kuala Lumpur, the Indians came roaring back as South Africa chased a revised target. Ajitesh Argal, Ravindra Jadeja and Siddharth Kaul claimed two wickets apiece as India restricted their rivals to 103/8 in 50 overs to win the match by 12 runs. Argal bagged the ‘Man-of-the-Match’ award with figures of 5-2-7-2 in the final.

India’s third title came in 2012 when Unmukt Chand’s team thrashed hosts Australia by six wickets at Townsville.

Pacer Sandeep Sharma claimed 4/54 as India elected to bowl and restricted the Aussies to 225/8 in 50 overs. In response, Unmukt Chand struck a century (111) while wicketkeeper Smit Patel contributed an unbeaten 62 as India, who had finished second in the league, romped to a six-wicket victory. Unmukt, India’s best batsman in the event, was declared ‘Man of the Match’ in the final.

India again defeated Australia in the final to win their fourth title, which came after a gap of six years in 2018. The team led by Prithvi Shaw thrashed Australia by eight wickets in a low-scoring final played at Mount Maunganui, New Zealand.

Australia elected to bat first but were bowled out for 216 in 47.2 overs thanks to clinical bowling by Ishan Porel (2/30), Shiva Singh (2/30), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (2/41) and Anukul Roy (2/32) and Australia lost wickets at regular intervals.

In reply, India rode on a run-a-ball century by Manjot Kalra (101 off 102) while Harvik Desai contributed an unbeaten 47 as Shaw’s team romped to 220/2 in 38.5 overs, winning the final by eight wickets with 67 balls to spare.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Cricket News on

Published Date: February 6, 2022 9:34 AM IST