FIFA Best Football Awards 2018 Winners and Results: Luka Modric Wins Best Men’s Player, Marta Bags Best Women’s Player Award

The coveted FIFA best men's footballer award was won by Luka Modric

Updated: September 25, 2018 1:35 AM IST

By Abhishek Kumar


FIFA Best Football Awards 2018 Results:
The winner of the coveted FIFA Award is picked after the votes are split between national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains, a select group of media from those countries, and fans.

Also Read:

Here is the complete winner’s list:
FIFA best men’s player: Luka Modric
FIFA best women’s player: Marta
Best Goal ‘Puskas’ award: Liverpool and Egypt international Mohamed Salah won the Puskas Goal of the Year award for his goal against derby rival Everton last season at Anfield.
Best men’s Coach: Men’s Coach award was won by World Cup winner Didier Deschamps, he was presented the award by compatriot and former Arsenal manager, Arsene Wenger.
Best Women’s coach: Reynald Pedros, coach of Lyonnais Féminin – who won the French league and the Women’s Champions League last season – picks up the award.
Best Goalkeeper award: The best goalkeeper was by Belgian international and Chelsea goalkeeper, Thibaut Courtois.
Best fans: Peru fans
FIFA Fair play award: Presented by Pierluigi Collina and Paolo Maldini, the award was won by Lennart Thy. Lennart missed a game for VVV-Venlo against PSV Eindhoven to donate stem cells to try and help a Leukaemia patient.
FIFA World XI: De Gea, Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Kante, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Three-time FIFA best award winner Cristiano Ronaldo, and his arch-rival Lionel Messi were absent from the grand award ceremony.

Argentina and Barcelona forward Messi was snubbed for the top-three of the Men’s Award which consists of Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal), Mohamed Salah(Liverpool and Egypt) and Luka Modric(Real Madrid and Croatia).

Antoine Griezmann, Harry Kane and Kylian Mbappe were some top footballers in the rest of the longlist, though FIFA world cup finalist and FIFA 2018 tournament’s Best player winner Modric was clear favourite to grab the coveted award after captaining Croatia to the final of the World Cup as well as having a pivotal role in winning the Champions League with Real Madrid.

Liverpool’s Mo Salah has also had a sensational performance, scoring numerous goals and being compared to the five-time ballon’dor winners in the likes of Ronaldo and Messi in that sense.

Ronaldo missing out on the ceremony was a major hint that he won’t be picking up the award – he never usually shows up to award shows that he loses out on!

The 33-year-old, joined Juventus this summer for a club record £100 million deal, after playing a crucial role in helping Real Madrid win a third straight Champions League title last season, his fifth in total, with 15 goals in the tournament. Ronaldo also scored a memorable hat-trick in the FIFA World Cup but did not progress beyond the round of 16. That is why Modric has the better chance of winning the award by the virtue of his silver medal from the FIFA world cup in Russia.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Sports News on

Published Date: September 25, 2018 12:47 AM IST

Updated Date: September 25, 2018 1:35 AM IST