New Delhi: The Under-17 FIFA World Cup has reached its business end as the final eight teams have made it to the quarter finals.

Germany, Brazil, USA, England, Mali, Ghana, Spain and Iran are the final eight teams vying for the coveted prize. Germany will take on Brazil, USA are pitted against England.

In the other two quarters, Mali will play Ghana and Spain will be up against Iran. Brazil was the final team to make it to the quarters after they beat Honduras 3-0 on Wednesday.

Ghana beat Niger 2-0 to reach the final eight on the same day at the DY Patil Stadium. Ghana captain Eric Ayiah (45+4 minute) put his team ahead when he converted a penalty just before half-time. Richard Danso (90th) doubled the lead right at the end.

England Under-17 team held onto their nerves during tie-breakers to edge past Japan 5-3 in the pre-quarters on Tuesday. For England, Rhian Brewster, Callum Hudson-Odoi, Phil Foden, goalkeeper Curtis Anderson and Nya Kirby were on target during penalty shootout after both teams were locked goalless at the Vivekananda Yuva Bharati Krirangan.

Iran beat Mexico 2-1 in the Round-of-16 match at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa on Tuesday. Tim Weah had scored a spectacular hat-trick as USA thrashed Paraguay 5-0 in the pre quarter-final of the FIFA U-17 World Cup on Monday.

Germany on Monday had become the first quarterfinalist of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup after they outplayed Colombia 4-0 in a Round-of-16 fixture at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi.

The Final Eight

US vs Eng – 21st October – Goa

Mali vs Ghana – 21st October – Guwahati

Spain vs Iran – 22nd October – Kochi

Germany vs Brazil – 22nd Oct – Kolkata