Gokulam Kerala have won their maiden Indian Women’s League title beating Kryphsa FC 3-2 in the final played at the Bengaluru Football Stadium on Thursday. With the contest heading towards extra-time, Sabitra Bhandari scored the winner for Gokulam with just three minutes before the regulation time.

Gokulam got ahead in the very first minute of the match when Prameshwori Devi netted their first goal of the tie to make it 1-0. 25 minutes into the first half and Gokulam doubled their lead through Kamala Devi who converted a free-kick.

Eight minutes later, the Manipur-based Kryphsa pulled one back via Dangmei Grace to make it 2-1.

Gokulam, coached by PV Priya, maintained a one-goal advantage when the half-time whistle was blown.

Kryphsa completed their comeback in the 71st minute when Ratanbala Devi found the back of the net to make it 2-all. However, Sabitra, who is the leading goal-scorer of the season, sealed the deal in the 87th minute for Gokulam who now have join the likes of Sethu FC, Rising Student’s Club and Eastern Sporting Union to have won the IWL trophy.

Gokulam thus ended a memorable season winning all their seven matches including the final. During the league, they scored 31 goals while conceding just five.