Great Britain defeated Australia in a seven-goal thriller to lift the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2017. Great Britain becomes the first team from the British Isles to win the Azlan Shah title since 1994.

Alan Forsyth and David Goodfield netted goals in 8th and 11th minute respectively to hand Great Britain an early advantage. However, Eddie Ockenden opened the scoring for Kookaburras, and after the half-time, the score read 2-1.

The third quarter started with Great Britain registering their third goal through Ollie Willars. However, a minute later Joshua Pollard brought Australia back in the game by netting a crucial goal. Also Read-Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2017: India take bronze medal, beat New Zealand 4-0

Pollard thanks to Dylan Wotherspoon’s pass managed to narrow the gap between the opponents as the scoreline read 3-2.

Nearing the end of third quarter, both Great Britain and Australia found the net. But it was Goodfield’s second goal in the 43rd minute that handed Great Britain an unassailable lead. Two minutes prior to closure of penultimate quarter Dylan Wotherspoon scored a goal giving his side a hope going into the final quarter. Also Read: Roelant Oltmans says HIL has big impact on development of foreign players

But it proved to be the last goal of the thrilling encounter as Great Britain’s defence denied Kookaburras an opportunity to level and thus they had to settle with the silver medal.

Earlier, India defeated New Zealand 4-0 to clinch the bronze medal.