April 6, 1954 marks the birthday of one of India’s finest batsmen of all time – the backbone of its batting in the middle order, Dilip Vengsarkar. Nicknamed Colonel, Vengsarkar went on to play 116 Tests and 129 ODIs, scoring almost 10000 international runs for India, was the first No. 1 batsman in the world. When the rankings system was introduced in 1987, Vengsarkar led the charts as the No. 1 Test batsman in the world.Also Read - Sunil Gavaskar Backs Rohit Sharma to Replace Virat Kohli as India's Next T20 Captain; Picks KL Rahul as His Deputy

Between 1983 – India’s World Cup winning year – and 1987, Vengsarkar played 35 Tests, scoring 2772 runs at an average of 64.46, higher than the likes of Allan Border, Clive Lloyd, Gordon Greenidge and Sunil Gavaskar. In those five years, Vengsarkar had outscored the best by a comfortable 15-20 runs per innings. In the eighties, he was indisputably the premier batsman of India, more prolific and consistent than Gavaskar, Azhar and Mohinder Amarnath. Yet, more often than not, fans showered far more adulation on far lesser players. He received the Arjuna award in 1981. Also Read - Will be Waste of God-Given Talent: Sunil Gavaskar Wants Sanju Samson to Improve Shot Selection

Top batsmen in Tests from Prudential Cup 1983 to end of 1987 Also Read - PBKS vs RR | Dropping Chris Gayle on His Birthday Makes No Sense: Sunil Gavaskar Lashes Out at Punjab Kings

Dilip Vengsarkar352772
Allan Border41366661.101312
Clive Lloyd20127758.0437
Gordon Greenidge39280751.0388
Mohammad Azharuddin23156050.3265
Mike Gatting39289449.89912
Sunil Gavaskar35249748.01712
Javed Miandad37234747.89514
Dean Jones1399947.5724
John F Reid15102746.6851
David Gower47345146.63916
Martin Crowe36253846.1489
Viv Richards39228445.68710
Richie Richardson29181944.3666

At a venue where some of the big names in the history of cricket have not scored a century, Vengsarkar’s name appears on the Lord’s Honours Board thrice as he remains the only batsman to score three consecutive centuries at the Mecca of Cricket. As a 23 year old, Vengsarkar’s 103 in the second innings saved India from a defeat and escape with a draw.

Top run getters in the 1980s (more than 4000 runs)

Allan Border93694053.791839
Javed Miandad75540153.471524
Dilip Vengsarkar75465246.051223
Viv Richards71436145.421322
Sunil Gavaskar62414845.081120
Gordon Greenidge73498045.271320
David Gower89644644.151432
Graham Gooch56458744.971124
Desmond Haynes75483741.691226
Allan Lamb68402736.601314

In 1982, Vengsarkar’s 157 stood out even though it couldn’t save India from a defeat, costing them the series. Four years later as India created history by winning a Test series in England under Kapil Dev, Vengsarkar was the leading run-scorer for the team with 360 runs – for which he was named Man of the Series – with hundreds at Lord’s and Leeds. He was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1987, the same year when he won the Padma Shri.

Vengsarkar was the third-leading Test run-getter of the 80s, behind Border and Miandad, tallying 4652 runs at an average of 46.05 with 12 hundreds and 23 half-centuries. Long after he was done, Vengsarkar was appointed the BCCI chairman of selectors in 2006, and picked the Indian team that created history in 2007, winning the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa under MS Dhoni.