Indian football is going places! Also Read - MI vs CSK Dream11 IPL: Piyush Chawla Edges Past Harbhajan Singh to Become Third-Highest Wicket-Taker During Opener

Former India cricketer Harbhajan Singh’s special message for the U-20, U-16 football teams who beat Argentina and Iraq is high on motivation quotient. this is the kind of involvement by cricketers that would catch the attention of the nation, where cricket still by far is the first sport. Also Read - Harbhajan Singh Reacts on CSK Missing Him And Suresh Raina Ahead of The IPL 2020 Opener vs MI

Singh took to Twitter after their respective victories and his post read, “Indian football is showing the world what we’re made up of! I’m extremely happy to know that India beat Argentina 2-1 in the U20 league, and India also beat Iraq 1-0 in the U16 league! Congratulations.” Also Read - IPL 2020: Suresh Raina Will be Hard to Replace, Ambati Rayudu Should Bat at No. 3 Spot For Chennai Super Kings, Says Scott Styris

India U-20 team, led by Amarjit Singh Kiyam made history by beating six-time U-20 U-20 world champions Argentina 2-1 in their final fixture. The match took place in Valencia, Spain.

The other team, U-16 boys from India took on a formidable Iraq in the WAFF tournament 1-0. The win marks a historic achievement as it is the first-ever victory for any Indian football team against Iraq in any format and among all age groups.

“I would like to dedicate this win to all my fellow Indian coaches who train the boys before they join us at the AIFF Academy and eventually the National Team,” India U-16 head coach Bibiano Fernandes said.

These are big victories for India and it seems football is on the right track, finally. The historic triumph was celebrated across the country.

Earlier, India led by Sunil Chhetri won the Intercontinental Cup, also India U-17 played the FIFA World Cup last year.

Watch how the U-20 team celebrated their big moment.

Meanwhile, Harbhajan Singh still continues to participate in the cash-rich Indian Premier League, where he plays for Chennai Super Kings.