India’s top Hockey stars and captains of their respective (male and female) sides – Manpreet Singh and Rani Rampal were nominated for Dhruv Batra Player of the Year award on Tuesday. The Annual awards will be distributed by Hockey India on March 8. A total prize money of Rs 1.30 crore along with trophies will be awarded to hockey stars as the national federation released the list of nominations for the awards, given in recognition of excellence in performance for the year 2019 and overall contribution to the game. Also Read - Olympic Gold is Ultimate Goal For All of us, Says Hockey Mid-Fielder Rajkumar Pal

Manpreet, who became the first Indian to win the FIH Best Player of the Year award earlier this month, was nominated for guiding the team to Tokyo Olympic berth. Also Read - Indian Men's Hockey Team Should Aim For Medal, Shouldn't Just be Happy With Olympian Title: Vasudevan Baskaran

He was named alongside Harmanpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh and Surender Kumar for the award which carries prize money of Rs 25 lakh. Also Read - Hockey Umpire's Manager Virendra Singh Dies of COVID-19, Hockey India Offers Condolences

India’s women team captain Rani, who became the first-ever hockey player to win the prestigious ‘World Games Athlete of the Year’ award last month, was nominated for along with Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur and Savita.

Teenager Vivek Sagar Prasad, who had won the FIH Men’s Rising Star of the Year, was nominated for Jugraj Singh Upcoming Player of the Year 2019 (Men Under 21) along with Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Mandeep Mor. The award carries a proze money of Rs 10 lakh.

The nominations for Asunta Lakra Upcoming Player of the Year 2019 (Women Under 21) included forward Lalremsiami, who had won the 2019 FIH Women’s Rising Star of the Year, Salima Tete and Sharmila Devi.

Rani was also named in the list of nomination for Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year, which has a purse of Rs 5 lakh, along with Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh and Navneet Kaur.

For Rs 5 lakh Ajit Pal Singh Award (Midfielder of the Year), Manpreet and Vivek Sagar were nominated along with Monika and Neha Goyal.

Deep Grace, Harmanpreet Singh, Surender and Varun Kumar were nominated for Pargat Singh Award (Defender of the Year), which also carries a prize purse of Rs 5 lakh.

India custodian PR Sreejesh along with Krishan B Pathak, Rajani Etimarpu and Savita were nominated for Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year.

The nomination for Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award (Rs 30 lakh), President’s Award for Outstanding Achievement (Rs 5 lakh) and Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution (Rs 5 lakh) will be announced during the function.

(With PTI Inputs)