The International Cricket Council (ICC) has added 4 more teams to their list of One Day International (ODI) ranking system. The teams are Nepal, Scotland, Netherlands and UAE have been added. That makes it a total of 16 teams from the existing 12 teams. It is a move that comes a year before the ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup. The ICC World Cup will be played in England in 2019. Also note, that names of Nepal and Netherlands will feature in the list once they play four more matches.

Scotland is the new 13th team with 28 points, whereas UAE grabs the 14th spot with 18 points. Netherlands currently have 13 rating points and hence there names won’t feature now. In due course one can see the names of Nepal and Netherlands as well. This is a big move by ICC, this should help spread the game better.

Meanwhile, the Netherlands have already been awarded ODI status, which means we will see them compete with international teams, more often than before.

Here is the current list:

ICC ODI team rankings

1. England (125 points)

2. India (122)

3. South Africa (113)

4. New Zealand (112)

5. Australia (104)

6. Pakistan (102)

7.Bangladesh (93)

8. Sri Lanka (77)

9. West Indies (69)

10. Afghanistan (63)

11. Zimbabwe (55)

12. Ireland (38)

13. Scotland (28)

14. UAE (18)

Earlier in the year, ICC Qualifiers were held which was won by Afghanistan. Afghanistan played West Indies in the finals of the event. In that tournament lesser-known cricketing nations like Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong and Nepal also participated.