Cricket fans all across the globe will once again witness the India-Pakistan clash, touted as the ‘mother of all clashes’ on September 19, 2018 when the two teams lock horns in the Asia Cup 2018. India will be playing Pakistan in Dubai the day after their opening game against the as-yet-unconfirmed qualifiers. Also Read - India vs Australia 2020-21: Virat Kohli to Jasprit Bumrah, Top Five Indian Players to Watch Out For in ODI Series

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday released the schedule for the biennial tournament set to take place in the UAE from 15 September, sees Bangladesh and Sri Lanka face each other in the opening game in Dubai. READ | Asia Cup 2018 Full Schedule Also Read - Mohammad Amir: Would Have Been Great to Bowl to Virat Kohli And Rohit Sharma in PSL

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are all confirmed participants, with the remaining spot still up for grabs almost UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong. Also Read - Pregnant Anushka Sharma Sets Maternity Fashion Right In Rs 15K Lilac Suit By Brand Tokree

Group A consists of India, Pakistan and the qualifier while Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 4 and two teams will then play the final on 28 September in Dubai.

Overall, India and Pakistan have played 12 games against each other in the Asia Cup tournament (11 ODI and 1 T20I), with India emerging victorious on five occasions, Pakistan on six and one match ending without any result. The 2018 edition of the tournament will be played in 50-overs format unlike the 2016 event which was played in the T20 format as it preceded the 2016 World T20.

The final of the 2016 Asia Cup was won by India who defeated Bangladesh by eight wickets at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium situated. It was for the sixth time that India won the Asia Cup title.

India and Pakistan, the two Asian giants, last time clashed with each other at the finals of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017 when the Men in Green defeated Team India by 180 runs at The Oval on June 18.

India and Pakistan cricketing rivalry, touted by many of the greatest cricketing rivalries has been hampered in the recent times because of the bilateral relations between the two nations.

In 2014, both Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the PCB signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) which stated that the two arch-rivals will play six bilateral series between 2015 and 2023. According to the 2014 agreement, India was scheduled to play six series against Pakistan, four of them were going to be Pakistan’s home series.

While the BCCI has repeatedly snubbed Pakistan’s request for resumption of ties, the PCB wants its Indian counterpart to honour its commitment under the MoU signed, which is subjected to clearance from the Government of India.

Despite not playing a full-fledged bilateral series against Pakistan since the 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai, the arch-rivals have played each other a number of times in the ICC eventsAlthough, Pakistan did tour India for a short series in December 2012.