Top Recommended Stories

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Hashim Amla Surpasses AB de Villiers, Sourav Ganguly And Rohit Sharma to Score 8000 ODI Runs, Becomes 2nd Fastest to Reach Landmark After Virat Kohli

Amla became the fourth South African batsman to reach 8000 runs in ODI cricket.

Published: June 19, 2019 5:49 PM IST

By Sports Desk | Edited by Aditya Chauhan

Hashim Amla, Hashim Amla Retirement, Cricket South Africa, Hashim Amla, Amla Retirement from International Cricket, Cricket News, South Africa Opener, Amla Retire From ODIs and Tests, Amla Retires From Cricket
Hashim Amla in action during ICC Cricket World Cup 2019_Twitter

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, New Zealand vs South Africa Match 25: One of the most important cogs in South African batting lineup – Hashim Amla once again showed up when it mattered the most on cricket’s biggest stage as he notched up another ODI landmark during match 25 of ICC World Cup 2019 versus New Zealand. Amla becomes the second-fastest player (176 innings)to reach 8000 runs in one-day internationals, taking one more innings than Virat Kohli (175) to achieve the milestone.

With this, the Durban-born player has surpassed the likes of AB de Villiers, Sourav Ganguly, Rohit Sharma and Ross Taylor. Amla currently holds the record of scoring fastest 2000, 3000, 4000, 5000, 6000, 7000 runs in the 50-over format. Coming into the match, Amla needed 24 runs as he became the fourth South African batsman after Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers and Herschelle Gibbs to enter the 8k club.

You may like to read

Fewest innings to 8000 ODI runs:
175 Virat Kohli
182 AB de Villiers
200 S Ganguly/ Rohit Sharma
203 Ross Taylor

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to field against South Africa in their rain-hit World Cup match on Wednesday. New Zealand are unchanged while South Africa have brought in Lungi Ngidi in place of Beuran Hendricks.

Playing XIs —

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi and Imran Tahir.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Cricket News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.