The International Cricket Council(ICC) on Wednesday released the men’s Future Tours Programme (FTP) from 2018-2023, which includes the World Test Championship and a 13-team ODI league.The FTP provides clarity and certainty around all bilateral international fixtures and incorporates all three formats of the game. Also Read - MS Dhoni Showed me The Real Picture Regarding 2019 World Cup: Yuvraj Singh

Nine top-ranked sides will participate in the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, which will run from 15 July 2019 to 30 April 2021. The sides will play six series in the two-year cycle on a home and away basis against opponents they have mutually selected. The two top-ranked sides will then progress to the June 2021 final to decide the World Test champions. Also Read - England vs New Zealand: Ben Stokes Took a Cigarette Break Ahead of 2019 World Cup Final Super Over: Report

In addition, the 12 Test playing nations and the Netherlands, will participate in the 13-team ODI League, which will run from 1 May 2020 to 31 March 2022 and all the sides will play eight series over a two-year cycle on a home and away basis against mutually agreed opponents. Also Read - On This Day: England vs New Zealand ICC World Cup 2019, The Greatest Final

This league will serve as a qualification pathway for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. India (as host) plus the seven highest-ranked sides in the ODI league as on 31 March 2022 will qualify directly for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, while the bottom five sides will get a second chance to qualify through the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson congratulated the members for their efforts in the preparation of the men’s Future Tours Programme: “The agreement of this FTP means we have clarity, certainty and most importantly context around bilateral cricket over the next five years. The World Test Championship will get underway next year with the ODI league kicking off in 2020 as part of the qualification towards the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.”

The structure of the men’s FTP (2018-23) includes:

  • ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019 and 2023
  • ICC World T20 – 2020 and 2021
  • World Test Championship
  • Cycle 1 – 2019-2021 (final 2021)
  • Cycle 2 – 2021-2023 (final 2023)
  • All bilateral Tests, ODIs and T20Is outside of the above competitions