The sixth edition of the ICC World T20 will be held in India for the first time. Like the game of cricket itself, the birth of Twenty 20 (T20) cricket was elsewhere but it was in the Indian subcontinent that it was polished and sold to the masses, who lapped it up with both hands. The faced paced nature of the game saw boundaries flowing like nobody’s business and unheralded heroes rise to the occasion. To top it all, India are favourites to win this tournament; the side recently clinched the Asia Cup, and have gone on a superb winning run, starting with a whitewash Down Under. Also Check: ICC T20 World Cup 2016 book tickets online

Like the previous edition, which was held in Bangladesh, the World T20 2016 has will also go through a set of qualifiers before the main draw. Eight teams will fight for a place, out of which four will go through. Bangladesh are a near-certainty to progress and so are Zimbabwe. However, the African Nation have to watch out, having nearly missed out on a place in the last edition. Oman will be seen competing for a place for the first time in a major tournament. Netherlands had a memorable tournament last time around, yet again beating England while Ireland have always given the big sides a run for their money. Also Read- India clubbed with Pakistan, Australia for World T20

The main draw is what people look forward to and India are pitted against arch-rivals Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand. It will be a tough group but the Men in Blue were in an equally tough pool last time around too, a challenge which they tackled with ease, winning all the games to go all the way to the finals.

ICC World Twenty20 2016 Complete Match Schedule

18th March 2016, TuesdayZimbabwe vs Hong KongNagpur3:00 PM IST
28th March 2016, TuesdayScotland v Afghanistan7:30 PM IST
39th March 2016, WednesdayBangladesh v NetherlandsDharamsala3:00 PM IST
49th March 2016, WednesdayIreland v Oman7:30 PM IST
510th March 2016, ThursdayScotland v ZimbabweNagpur3:00 PM IST
610th March 2016, ThursdayHong Kong v Afghanistan7:30 PM IST
711th March 2016, FridayNetherlands v OmanDharamsala3:00 PM IST
811th March 2016, FridayBangladesh v Ireland7:30 PM IST
912th March 2016, SaturdayZimbabwe v AfghanistanNagpur3:00 PM IST
1012th March 2016, SaturdayScotland v Hong Kong7:30 PM IST
1113th March 2016, SundayNetherlands v IrelandDharamsala3:00 PM IST
1213th March 2016, SundayBangladesh v Oman7:30 PM IST
1315th March 2016, TuesdayNew Zealand v IndiaNagpur7:30 PM IST
1416th March 2016, WednesdayWest Indies v EnglandMumbai3:00 PM IST
1516th March 2016, WednesdayPakistan v Q1AKolkata7:30 PM IST
1617th March 2016, ThursdaySri Lanka v Q1BKolkata7:30 PM IST
1718th March 2016, FridayAustralia v New ZealandDharamsala3:00 PM IST
1818th March 2016, FridaySouth Africa v EnglandMumbai7:30 PM IST
1919th March 2016, SaturdayIndia v PakistanDharamsala7:30 PM IST
2020th March 2016, SundaySouth Africa v Q1BMumbai3:00 PM IST
2120th March 2016, SundaySri Lanka v West IndiesBengaluru7:30 PM IST
2221st March 2016, MondayAustralia v Q1ABengaluru7:30 PM IST
2322nd March 2016, TuesdayNew Zealand v PakistanMohali7:30 PM IST
2423rd March 2016, WednesdayEngland v Q1BNew Delhi3:00 PM IST
2523rd March 2016, WednesdayIndia v Q1ABengaluru7:30 PM IST
2625th March 2016, FridayPakistan v AustraliaMohali3:00 PM IST
2725th March 2016, FridaySouth Africa v West IndiesNagpur7:30 PM IST
2826th March 2016, SaturdayQ1A v New ZealandKolkata3:00 PM IST
2926th March 2016, SaturdayEngland v Sri LankaNew Delhi7:30 PM IST
3027th March 2016, SundayIndia v AustraliaMohali7:30 PM IST
3127th March 2016, SundayQ1B v West IndiesNagpur3:00 PM IST
3228th March 2016, MondaySouth Africa v Sri LankaNew Delhi7:30 PM IST
29th March 2016, TuesdayRest  Day
3330th March 2016, WednesdayMen’s semi-finalNew Delhi7:00 PM IST
3431st March 2016, ThursdayMen’s semi-finalMumbai7:00 PM IST
353rd April 2016, SundayFinalKolkata7:00 PM IST

There are plenty of attacking teams in this tournament and a plethora of players who can bring fans to the edge of their seats. West Indies are always one of the favourites going into a T20 tournament. However, some of the sheen is off given the number of star players that have opted out. Australia, for all the arsenal they possess, have somehow not managed to set the stage on fire in T20 World Cup, apart from 2010 where they reached the finals. It will be foolish to write the 50-over champions off though. Also Check: ICC World T20 – Full Schedule and venue details

South Africa will bring in some of the most exiting players in the tournament. All eyes will be on batting maverick AB de Villiers, who enjoys more popularity than some of the Indian players. Brendon McCullum’s absence will be a big loss for New Zealand and the tournament. Defending champions Sri Lanka are rebuilding their side while Pakistan remain their unpredictable selves, thrilling fans one day while coming a cropper on another.

The full schedule of the ICC World T20 can be found here. One can download the entire fixture list through PDF format here.