In the wake of the Pulwama attack where 40 CRPF jawans on Thursday left the entire nation in shock and anger. India captain Virat Kohli took to Twitter and postponed the RP-SG Indian Sports Honours which was slated to take place on Saturday night. The tragic incident not only shook the country but the Bollywood along with the sporting fraternity reacted too. The episode was condemned and condolences were passed on to the families of the martyred. Kohli took to Twitter and his post read, “The RP-SG Indian Sports Honours has been postponed. At this heavy moment of loss that we all find ourselves in, we would like to cancel this event that was scheduled to take place tomorrow.”Also Read - NOT 'Stress Fracture', Jasprit Bumrah Has a 'Stress Reaction'- Report

Also Read - Babar Azam Equals Virat Kohli's T20I RECORD, Becomes Joint Fastest Player to Score 3000 Runs

As per the statement issued by Virat Kohli’s PR team: Also Read - Virat Kohli Charges Whopping Rs 8.9 Cr For Every Instagram Post

Every partner and all the sport-stars and delegates associated with this award have been informed and communicated with stating that hosting an event was unacceptable at this moment when India is mourning the death of its jawans.

Meanwhile, in a weeks time, Virat Kohli-led Team India will host Australia in a limited overs series featuring two T20Is, followed by five ODIs. Kohli will make a comeback to the squad after missing out on the last few internationals for the country as he was given a break. Kohli is currently the No 1 batsman in the world in ODIs and Tests.

Yesterday, BCCI announced the squad for India’s upcoming series against Australia at home. Earning his maiden call-up, leg-spinner Mayank Markande was on Friday picked for the two-T20I series against Australia as skipper Virat Kohli returned to lead the side following a break.

For 1st and 2nd ODI: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Siddharth Kaul, KL Rahul.

For remaining 3 ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant.

For T20I series: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande.