The Indian women’s hockey team advanced to the final of the Hockey World League Round 2 as they blew away Belarus in the semifinals in West Vancouver in Canada. Indian women played sensational hockey during their 4-0 victory over Belarus.

Indians will play Chile in the summit clash. The South American side had beaten Uruguay 2-1 in the second semifinal.

Wirth semifinals victory, India won a berth to take part in the Women’s Hockey World League Semi-Final which will be held in June-July. The tournament is a qualifier for the FIH Women’s World Cup 2018. Also read: Fomer hockey captain Sandeep hits out at current drag-flickers

India dominated their opposition from the beginning of the match. Even though Belarus won two early penalty corners in the fourth and ninth minutes, the Indian team’s defense was impressive was they denied an early lead to their opponents.

India were quick to earn their first penalty corner in the 13th minute and it was Gurjit Kaur whose stunning goal gave India a 1-0 lead in the first quarter.

India took a 2-0 lead in the 20th minute through skipper Rani when she successfully converted a penalty stroke. Also read: Odisha to host hockey World League Final 2017, World Cup 2018

Both teams earned penalty corners in the third quarter with India winning one in the 33rd minute but the strike was wide. Belarus, on the other hand, won a penalty corner in the 40th minute but Yuliya Mikheichyk’s hard-struck drag flick was saved by India’s goalkeeper Savita.

The final quarter saw Belarus making desperate attempts to come back into the game. They began the quarter with a penalty corner in the 49th minute but was promptly denied by Savita. It was Gurjit Kaur’s splendid penalty stroke goal in the 58th minute that took India’s score to 4-0 and sealed the match.

“We are very excited and happy about the win. We played as a strong unit with better defense and I am happy we did not miss penalty corner chances. Our aim was to enter the Final and we look forward to a good game against Chile,” stated skipper Rani.

(With PTI inputs)