England have announced their 14-man squad to face Australia in a one-off T20I next week and their ensuing three-match T20 series against India in which they have fast bowler Mark Wood. He has been replaced with fellow quick Jake Ball in the squad, with the right-armer in line to make his T20I debut.

Recent Test debutant Sam Curran and fast bowler Chris Jordan are the two players outside the current one-day squad facing Australia who have been picked for the T20s. With both Chris Woakes and Ben Stokes missing the series due to ongoing injury – Stokes will be with the squad throughout the series as he continues his rehabilitation from his torn left hamstring – both Tom and Sam Curran have every chance of appearing in an England side that has won only one of their last five and three of their last 10 IT20 matches.

Meanwhile, ESPNcricinfo reports that both the Currans will become the first brothers to play together for England this century having been named in the T20I series against Australia and India. The last time two brothers played for England were Ben and Adam Hollioake when they played an ODI against Sri Lanka in Sydney in 1999.

England IT20 squad

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey.


June 27: England v Australia, Edgbaston

July 3: England v India, Emirates Old Trafford

July 6: England v India, Cardiff

July 8: England v India, Bristol