The historic one-off test between India and debutantes Afghanistan is underway at the M.A. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. It is a bright day in Bengaluru and a perfect weather to bat in. India won the toss and opt to bat. It is a historic moment for Afghanistan who are making their debut and is the 12th ICC Test nation.

Murli Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan open for the hosts and have got off to a steady start. India has not lost a wicket after the first hour of the match.

Minister of State, Sports, and Youth Affairs Mr. Rajyavardhan Rathore with Mr. Abdullah Abdullah (Chief Executive of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan), greet the two teams ahead of the start of play in Bengaluru.

Stats 1

The bowlers who bowled the first ever ball:

Eng: Alfred Shaw
Aus: John Hodges
SA: Gus Kempis
WI: George Francis
NZ: Ted Badcock
Ind: Mohammad Nissar
Pak: Khan Mohammad
SL: Ashantha de Mel
Zim: Eddo Brandes
Ban: Hasibul Hossain
Ire: Tim Murtagh
AFG: Yamin Ahmadzai

Stats 2

The First ever captain’s of the team:

Aus: Dave Gregory
Eng: James Lillywhite jnr
SA: Owen Dunell
WI: Karl Nunes
NZ: Tom Lowry
Ind: CK Nayudu
Pak: Abdul Kardar
SL: Bandula Warnapura
Zim: Dave Houghton
Ban: Naimur Rahman
Ire: William Porterfield
AFG: Asghar Stanikzai

India will look to bat long and get a mammoth score on the board because the hosts will nit look to bat last against the Afghan spin trio.

Earlier, both teams line-up for their respective national anthems. It is an emotional moment for the Afghanistani players, most of them have moisty eyes as the national anthem plays out.