India vs Australia 1st T20I Brisbane: India opener Rohit Sharma has had a dream 2018. He also had a great run as a captain where he led India to victory in the Nidahas Trophy, Asia Cup and then the home T20I series against the Windies. As a batsman as well, he has been breaking records at will and is having a great time with the willow. With the most-awaited Australia series to start, Rohit Sharma would again stand a chance to reach a few milestones and also break a few records.Also Read - India’s Predicted Playing XI For 2nd Test vs New Zealand: Virat Kohli Returns, Ajinkya Rahane Likely to be Dropped

1. He could become the first Indian batsman to hit 100 T20I sixes. He has 96 sixes to his name in 80 matches and given the way he is timing the ball, no one can say they he will not get there during the 3 T20I series. Also Read - My Heart And Soul With RCB: Virat Kohli After Being Retained by Franchise

2. Rohit Sharma stands a chance of overtaking India captain Virat Kohli to most runs in a calendar year. Rohit already has 560 runs to his name and needs only 81 runs to shatter Kohli’s record. Kohli has scored 641 runs in the year 2016. This is another record well within his reach Also Read - India Tour of South Africa: All You Need to Know About the World Class Bio-Secure Arrangements Assured by Cricket South Africa

3. Rohit Sharma can surpass Martin Guptill to become the leading run-scorer in T20I history. India’s very own Hitman has scored 2,203 runs in T20Is and needs 69 runs to breach Guptill, who is still at the top.

Like Kohli, a lot will depend on the starts Rohit Sharma gets India off to. He has been in sublime touch and would like to continue the same in the big series.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Washington Sundar.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

The match starts at 1.20 pm IST.