India vs Australia 1st T20I Brisbane: As the Australia tour starts with the 1st T20I in Brisbane, India captain Virat Kohli would have two incredible records in his sight. Kohli will lead India in the full-fledged series and a lot would ride on him as he is currently the No 1 batsman in ODI and Tests. Kohli needs 335 runs to become the fastest to 19,000 international runs across formats and he could also become the first cricketer in the world to score 500 T20I runs against Australia, he is 77 runs shy of that mark.Also Read - India’s Predicted Playing XI For 2nd Test vs New Zealand: Virat Kohli Returns, Ajinkya Rahane Likely to be Dropped

Both the records look very much within his grasp, given the ominous form he is in. If he reaches the 19000-run-mark in international cricket, the Indian captain will become the 12th batsman overall and 3rd Indian after Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid to score 19,000 runs in international cricket. Kohli also holds the record for quickest to reach 15,000, 16,000, 17,000 and 18,000 international runs. Also Read - My Heart And Soul With RCB: Virat Kohli After Being Retained by Franchise

Also Read - India Tour of South Africa: All You Need to Know About the World Class Bio-Secure Arrangements Assured by Cricket South Africa

Earlier, he became the fastest to 10,000 ODI runs and also became the only Indian cricketer to hit three consecutive centuries in ODI cricket.

India will start favourites in the absence of Smith and Warner. Australia’s results have fallen off a cliff since the two have been away. Since the ban, they are yet to win a T20I series against an opposition of note since March.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Washington Sundar.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

The match starts at 1.20 pm IST.