India vs Australia 1st T20I: India captain Virat Kohli’s Team India will be chasing another historic feat against Australia at Brisbane in the upcoming 1st T20I. Kohli’s Team India could become the first team to win five consecutive T20Is against Australia in Australia and in all likelihood, given the form they are in and Australia being an inexperienced team it is possible.

The last time India played a 3 T20I series in Australia in 2015-16, they blanked the hosts. Before that, they had won the last T20I against Australia in 2011-12 tour. This Indian team is No 2 in the world in T20s, just behind Pakistan.

Personally, Kohli needs 335 runs to become the fastest to 19,000 international runs across formats and he could also become the first cricketer in the world to score 500 T20I runs against Australia, he is 77 runs shy of that mark.

Both the records look very much within his grasp, given the ominous form he is in. If he reaches the 19000-run-mark in international cricket, the Indian captain will become the 12th batsman overall and 3rd Indian after Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid to score 19,000 runs in international cricket. Kohli also holds the record for quickest to reach 15,000, 16,000, 17,000 and 18,000 international runs.

India 12-Man Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed and Yuzvendra Chahal.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Washington Sundar.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

The match starts at 1.20 pm IST.