India vs Australia 2018-19 Tests: Virat Kohli and Co. created history by sealing its first ever Test series 2-1 on the Australian soil after the rain-affected fourth and the final Test, that ended in a frustrating draw at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Monday. India started their final frontier with a win at the Adelaide Oval but couldn’t continue their momentum in the second Test, which was held in Perth as they faced a 146-run defeat. Captain Kohli and the coach Ravi Shashtri had to face a lot of criticism from the cricket purist and fans, for their ‘Selection Blunders’ in the Perth Test. But the world no.1 bounced back and in style and thrashed the hosts by 137 runs to retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Bad light and rain stole India’s Sydney win and the series resulted in 2-1 instead of ‘3-1’.Also Read - Jasprit Bumrah Press Conference Ahead of ODIs vs South Africa: Virat Kohli's Role to India's Playing XI; Things That Could be Revealed

India has now conquered almost every Test playing nations, except South Africa. With this win, India registered their 19th overseas Test series victory. Have a look at the following table, which includes men in blue’s previous overseas Test series victories: Also Read - KL Rahul Should Be Made Test Skipper: Former BCCI Secretary Sanjay Jagdale

1   Also Read - Ravichandran Ashwin Can be a Good Choice to Take Over From Virat Kohli as India's Next Test Captain


1-0 (3) 1971 
2 2-0 (3) 1986 
3 1-0 (3) 2007 


1-0 (5) 1970-71 
5 1-0 (4) 2006 
6 1-0 (3) 2011 
7 2-0 (4) 2016 
8 PAKISTAN 2-1 (3)2003/04 


1-0 (3)1993 
10 2-1 (3) 2015 
11 3-0 (3)2017 
12 NEW ZEALAND 3-1 (4) 1967-68 
13 1-0 (3) 2008-09 


1-0 (1) 2000-01 
15 2-0 (2) 2004-05 
16 1-0 (2) 2007 
17 2-0(2) 2009-10 
18 ZIMBABWE 2-0 (2) 2005 
19 AUSTRALIA 2-1 (4) 2018-19 

The biggest takeaways of this series were Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Jaspreet Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav, who were at their best and helped India becoming the first team from the Asian sub-continent to take the series Down Under. Many records were broken and were created in this highly anticipated series, along with some entertaining exchanges between the players of both sides, making the longest format of the game more lively in this world of T20Is.

Cheteshwar Pujara was the difference between two sides, he scored three gritty centuries and scored 521 runs off 1258 balls in the four matches. Meanwhile, Mayank Agarwal had a fairy-tale debut as he lived up to the expectations and gave India a perfect start, that led to a mammoth total in both the matches.

Now, India will head to the last phase of their Australia tour when they will three-match ODIs, which will begin from January 12.