New Delhi: Australia beat India with a convincing margin of eight wickets in the second T20I to level the three-match series 1-1 at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati on Tuesday. Rookie pacer Jason Behrendorff impressed with the ball for the visitors. Playing only his second international match, the left-armer ended with dream figures of 4 for 21 in four overs.

This was Australia’s first T20I win against India on Indian soil.

Defending a modest total of 118, Australian openers met the same fate as their Indian counterparts. David Warner and Aaron Finch were sent back to the pavilion inside the first four overs.

The Aussies were reeling at 13/2 giving a glimmer of hope to the Indians, only to be dashed by the dynamic duo of Moises Henriques and Travis Head who took the game away from the hosts. Henriques hit his second fifty in T20 internationals scoring 62 not out. Head contributed 48 runs as the Aussies reached the target in 15.3 overs.

Indian spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal failed to make an impact and ended their spell without any wicket. Get LIVE scorecard here

Indian skipper took both the catches to dismiss Finch (8) and Warner (2). Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the first to strike in the second over while Jasprit Bumrah sent Warner back to the pavilion.

Put into bat first by the Australian stand-in captain David Warner, India were bowled out for 118. Behrendorff was in top form as he rattled the top four Indian batsmen on a juicy track under overcast conditions. The first to go was Rohit Sharma for 8 runs followed by the Indian skipper Virat Kohli (0).

Next up was Manish Pandey (6) whose poor shot selection led him to giving away his wicket for six runs. Opener Shikhar Dhawan also didn’t stay long enough in the middle. Aussie skipper Warner took a splendid catch to send Dhawan back to the pavilion.

India vs Australia 2nd T20I: First T20I Duck For Virat Kohli After 47 Innings

India vs Australia 2nd T20I: First T20I Duck For Virat Kohli After 47 Innings

Australians were in top form as they never gave an opportunity to the Indians to carve a partnership.

Kedar Jadhav (27) and Hardik Pandya (25) put up a gritty display to make sure India crossed the 100-run mark.

Adam Zampa also bowled impressively, especially the one that foxed MS Dhoni who was stumped by the Australian ‘keeper Tim Paine.

Barring Andrew Tye, the Aussie bowlers were exceptional with economy rate of less than 6 runs per over.

The two teams play the series-decider on Friday at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad.