Ace fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah delivered the goods instantly and single-handedly carried India’s remarkable comeback during the first T20I against Australia in Vizag on Sunday. Saving a below-par total of 127, Bumrah bowled a sensational spell of fast bowling – 3/16 in his quota of 4 overs to give the hosts an outside chance of scripting a memorable win. But, Umesh Yadav failed to defend 14 runs in the final as Australia edged out India by three wickets to take a 1-0 lead in the two-match series. Also Read - IND vs NZ: Kane Williamson Reacts After New Zealand's Historic WTC Triumph Over India in Southampton, Credits Big-Hearted Teammates

The highlight of India’s bowling was Bumrah delivering a breathtaking penultimate over, conceding just two runs and taking as many wickets. He also became only the second Indian bowler to take 50-plus wickets in T20I history after Ravichandran Ashwin. In the all-time of leading wicket-takers for India in T20Is, Bumrah is now just two wickets away from overtaking Ashwin and attaining the top spot. Also Read - IND vs NZ WTC Final Match Report: Kane Williamson, Tim Southee Power New Zealand to World Test Championship Glory, Beat India by 8 Wickets in Southampton

The three wickets in Vizag meant Bumrah took his career tally in T20Is to 51 wickets, which put him just one behind Ashwin (52 wickets), India’s highest wicket-taker in the shortest format of the game. Also Read - Ravichandran Ashwin Pips Pat Cummins to Become Leading Wicket-Taker in World Test Championship

India will face Australia in the second and final T20I on Wednesday at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru and Bumrah will have opportunity to leapfrog Ashwin and become the leading wicket-taker for India in T20Is.

Bumrah, though, is still a fair way behind the all-time leading wicket-taker in T20Is — Shahid Afridi, who has 98 scalps to his name. Despite India’s loss in the series opener, skipper Virat Kohli was all praise for Bumrah.

Bumrah got Peter Handscomb caught behind for 13 and then bowled Nathan Coulter-Nile off the final ball of the 19th over to keep put India in the driver’s seat before Umesh Yadav conceded 14 runs in the final over.

“Bumrah can do wonders with the ball when it is reversing and did exceptionally well to get us in the game,” Virat Kohli said after the game.


India: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, K.L. Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, M.S. Dhoni (wk), Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande.

Australia: Aaron Finch (C), D’Arcy Short, Pat Cummins, Alex Carey, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

Match starts at 7pm IST.