For the first time in the history of cricket, Bangladesh are set to play one-off Test on Indian soil starting Thursday. This is the first time Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) paid heed to Bangladesh Cricket Board’s (BCB) request for a bilateral Test series on Indian soil.

The Indian conditions and Bangladesh conditions have similarities as both of the teams rely on rank turners when the overseas team visits their countries.

So this one-off Test between India and Bangladesh will be an interesting one as the visitors will fight for a victory or at least avoid defeat.

For India, who have been in great form, this series will be a preparatory camp for the four-match Test series against Australia which begins February 23.

Bangladesh and India played five-Test series so far. The last was in 2015 which was Virat Kohli’s captaincy debut. The solitary match was drawn due to heavy rain.

Also read: Shoaib Akhtar alleges Pakistani cricketers of match-fixing

Let’s have a look at how the last four Test series against between Bangladesh and India turned out:

2000 India vs Bangladesh (1-0)

This was Bangladesh Test cricket debut. They made a superb start scoring 400 in their first innings, courtesy to Aminul Islam’s 145. Indian spinner Sunil Joshi took 5 wickets conceding 142 runs in 46 overs. The wily Indian spinner also played an important role with the bat scoring 92 runs, highest score by an Indian batsman in the match. Captain Sourav Ganguly scored 84 while opener Sadagoppan Ramesh provided India a good start scoring 58.

Since not a single Indian batsman managed to convert their half century to a hundred India didn’t get a big lead. However, when Bangladesh came to bat in the second innings seamer Javagal Srinath and spinner Sunil Joshi shared six wickets between them and Ajit Agarkar picked up two wickets as Bangladesh bowled out for paltry 91.

With 62 runs to chase down India win the match comfortably by nine wickets. Rahul Dravid scored 41 and Shiv Sunder Das scored 22.

2004 India vs Bangladesh (2-0)

Chittagong Test 

This was the second time India toured Bangladesh for a bilateral Test series.  Bangladesh failed to justify their Test status. In the first Test at the Bangabandhu National Stadium, they lost the game by an innings and 140 runs.

They skipper  Sourav Ganguly winning the toss elected to field first and bowled out Bangladesh for 184. Irfan Pathan took a fifer conceding 45 runs in 16 overs.

India in reply post a massive total on board. Legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar scored his career best 248 helped India to post 526 runs on the board.

Bangladesh were trailing by 342 runs. In the second innings, they failed to India give India a lead. They again lost the match by an innings and 140 runs. Pathan bagged another fifer as he grabbed six wickets. He received the Man of the Match for his exploit in the match.

Also read-India vs Bangladesh: Ajinkya Rahane or Karun Nair – who will get the nod?

Dhaka Test

In the second Test for the first time, India winning the toss chose to bat first and battered the Bangladesh bowlers. Gautam Gambhir and Rahul Dravid scored 139 and 160 while captain Ganguly scored 88. Harbhajan Singh’s pinch hitting late in the innings helped India to post 540 on board.

Bangladesh in reply post a modest total on board as Mohammad Ashraful scored unbeaten 158, the highest score by a Bangladesh player against India. Bangladesh bowled out for 333 runs. Anil Kumble picked up four wickets while Zaheer Kahn and Irfan Pathan shared four wickets between them.

Bangladesh were still trailing by 207 runs. For the third time in a row, Bangladesh failed to give India a lead as they bowled out for 124. Irfan Pathan again became their main tormentor as the medium pacer took his third fifer in the series. Bangladesh lost the match by an innings and 83 runs.

Ashraful was adjudged Man of the Match and Irfan Pathan grabbed the Man of the Series award.

2007 India vs Bangladesh (1-0)

The first Test of the two-Test series was played in Chittagong. Due to bad weather and rain, the match was abandoned as a result the second and last match had become the decider of the series. Bangladesh were still far away from improvement. The second Test was played in Dhaka.

Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar winning the toss elected to field first, a decision his bowlers failed to back his as Indian batsmen went on to score heavily. Opener Dinesh Karthik and Wasim Jaffer built 175 runs in the first wicket partnership, highest in the history of Bangladesh versus India Test series. Karthik scored 129 while Jaffer scored 138. Following their departure, Sachin Tendulkar (122) and Rahul Dravid (129) fascinated the local spectators as the duo built another 137 runs fourth wicket partnership. The top order’s contribution helped India to post a monumental 610 runs on the board.

Ball in hand Zaheer Khan rattled the Bangladesh batting attack as he took a fifer, as a result, Bangladesh bowled out for 118. In the second innings, they did better in comparison to their first innings. They scored 253 but failed to surpass the trail as a result lost the match by a massive margin of 239 runs.

Zaheer Khan was the man of the match and Sachin Tendulkar was adjudged Man of the series.

2009 India vs Bangladesh (2-0)

This was a rather competitive series as Bangladesh surpassed 300 runs mark in first and second Test. The host team’s bowlers also did an exceptional job. In the first Test Shahadat Hossain bagged a fifer, as a result, India bowled out for 243, India’s lowest in Bangladesh batting first. Only Sachin Tendulkar managed to score a hundred.

Bangladesh in reply post 242 runs, courtesy to Mahmudullah’s 69 and Mushfiqur Rahim’s 44. With one run lead, India in their second innings did comparatively better than their first innings as they post 413 on board and set 414 runs for Bangladesh. The hosts tried their best but their middle order failed cheaply. Apart from Mushfiqur Rahim’s 101, there was no big contribution from the Bangladesh side. They lost the match by 113. The only good sign is that they didn’t lose the match by an innings, this happened for the second time in Bangladesh’s cricket history against India.

In the second Test in Mirpur, Bangladesh batting first scored 233 runs, thanks to Mahmudullah’s 96 runs innings. India in reply post 544 runs on the board as Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar scored their respective hundred while MS Dhoni scored unbeaten 89. Bangladesh were trailing by 311 runs. They just managed another innings defeat as they scored 312 runs on the board, thanks to Tamim Iqbal’s 151. Zaheer Kahn took seven wickets. India won the match by 10 wickets.