Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team will not be able to avail the services of bowling ace Jasprit Bumrah, who is yet to recover from a left hand fracture sustained during a T20 International against Ireland in June. Also Read - BCCI Invites Tender For IPL Sponsorship For 4-month Period; Highest Bid Not Guaranteed Winner

While the BCCI had stated in an earlier media release that Bumrah will be available for selection from the second Test subject to fitness, it is now confirmed that the recovery has been slower than expected and he is now out of contention from the Lord’s Test. Also Read - IPL 2020: BCCI Gets Government Approval to Stage IPL in UAE, Says League Chairman Brijesh Patel

“He (Burmah) is bowling fit right now but it’s too early to put him into a game-like situation. The plaster on his hand needs to come off first. He is out of contention for the second Test,” bowling coach Bharat Arun confirmed at a media conference on Tuesday. Also Read - IPL 2020: BCCI in Trouble, After VIVO Exit, Calls to Drop Byju’s & Dream11 Grow: Report

READ: India Should Play Kuldeep Alongside Ashwin in Lord’s Test, Says Harbhajan Singh

Bumrah has been bowling at the nets but it has been found that he is still taking catches with a soft ball.

Despite a stellar performance by the bowling attack in the first Test against England, the Indian team failed to register a win at Edgbaston after a collective failure of the batsmen barring skipper Virat Kohli. The visitors are now trailing by 0-1 in the five-match Test series.

On Tuesday, Team India captain Virat Kohli was also seen in action during a gruelling nets session ahead of the second Test.


India: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.’

England: Joe Root (C), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Sam Curran, Keaton Jennings, Ollie Pope, Jamie Porter, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes.

(With PTI Inputs)