India lost the opening Test of the five-match series against England by 31 runs. The Virat Kohli-led team had to face a lot of criticism, especially for its batting and slip catching. Apart from Kohli, who amassed 200 runs in the two innings at Edgbaston, none of the Indian batters could stay at the crease for long and the Men in Blue failed to clinch what could have been their first Test win in Birmingham. Also Read - IPL 2020: Learnt a Lot From Virat Kohli, Says RCB Opener Devdutt Padikkal

On Tuesday, the Indian team was seen hitting the nets and working on their batting skills as they aim to level the series at the Home of Cricket. In an 18-second video posted by BCCI, Kohli was seen working on his defence and practising cover drive. Also Read - IPL 2020: Virat Kohli Heaps Praise on 'Game Changer' Yuzvendra Chahal After Spinner's Match-winning Spell vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in Dubai

Watch the video here: Also Read - IPL 2020 Report: Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal Star as Royal Challengers Bangalore Beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 10 Runs to Start Campaign With a Win

Sunil Gavaskar has also criticised the team for its lack of preparation for the first Test, saying the lack of serious practice ahead of the Birmingham game hurt visitors dearly as batsmen’s poor technique against moving deliveries was thoroughly exposed. he added.

“It was no preparation at all,” Gavaskar told ‘India Today’ channel, referring to the three-day warm-up game. “I can understand that you need to switch off after a series but that can’t be five days at a stretch. It can be three plus three-day breaks between matches but not five days,” he added.

Meanwhile, England announced their 13-man squad for the second Test, in which they have dropped Dawid Malan and Ben Stokes, who is not available for the Test because of the ongoing hearing in Bristol nightclub brawl case.


England: Joe Root (capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Sam Curran, Keaton Jennings, Ollie Pope, Jamie Porter, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes.

India: Virat Kohli(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.