England captain Joe Root on Wednesday confirmed that rookie batsman Ollie Pope will make his debut against India in the second Test of the ongoing five-match series starting tomorrow at the Lord’s.Also Read - T20 World Cup 2021: Ravichandran Ashwin Has Been Rewarded For Reviving His White Ball Skills, Says Virat Kohli

While naming the 12-man squad for the Lord’s Test, Root also confirmed that Pope, who plays for Surrey, will receive his first cap batting at No. 4, replacing Dawid Malan from the side that won the first Test by 31 runs at Edgbaston. Also Read - MS Dhoni's Eye For Intricate Details & Practical Advice Will Help Team India: Virat Kohli

Pope has had a stellar domestic season as he scored 684 runs at average 85.50 and is the second-highest run-scorer in the County championship this summer. Additionally, he is also right-handed which is seen as a tactic to contend with Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who picked up seven wickets at Edgbaston. Also Read - Virat Kohli Responds to Reports About Rahul Dravid's Appointment as Head Coach: "No Idea Exactly What's Happening"

Seamer Jamie Porter misses out from the initial 13-man squad, while one among Moeen Ali or Chris Woakes will replace Ben Stokes, who will miss the second Test due to the ongoing hearing in the Bristol nightclub brawl case.

ALSO READ | ‘Not Family Function’: Virushka Gets TROLLED For High Commission Visit in London

Meanwhile, India will miss the services of right-arm pacer Jasprit Bumrah who is yet to recover from a left-hand fracture sustained during a T20I against Ireland in June. While the BCCI had stated in an earlier media release that Bumrah will be available for selection from the second Test subject to fitness, it is now confirmed that the recovery has been slower than expected and he is now out of contention from the Lord’s Test.

England 12-man squad: Joe Root (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (w), Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Sam Curran, Keaton Jennings, Ollie Pope, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes.

India squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.’

(With PTI inputs)