Indian skipper Virat Kohli will have a golden opportunity of surpassing former Australian captain Steve Smith to the ICC No 1 Ranking in Tests. Going by the current rankings, the Indian captain is 26 runs shy of the Australian who is at the numero uno spot. England’s Joe Root is behind Kohli at the third spot. Going by current form and also taking into consideration that the Australian won’t be playing Test cricket anytime soon, Virat has a good opportunity to surpass the Aussie. Also Read - India vs Australia: Steve Smith Hails Rishabh Pant; Calls Him "Exceptional Talent"

Kohli would be hungry to perform in England after having a forgetful 2014 series against the same nation. Since that trip, Virat Kohli has gone on to slam centuries and get runs in every country in the world and has grown as a batsman and a leader. Now, he would like to correct his poor past record in the UK. He has the chance for sure as India play England in a long five-match Test series. Also Read - Team India Reclaims Top Spot in World Test Championship, Jumps to Second in ICC Rankings After Historic 2-1 Series Win Over Australia

Meanwhile, Root has been in ominous form as well in ODIs and a lot will be expected from him when he takes to the field for the first Test. Root slammed a couple of centuries in the last two ODIs and also ended up bagging the Man of the Series award. Also Read - India's Predicted Squad For England Test Series: Kohli, Ishant Set to Return; Shami, Jadeja And Vihari Unavailable

Other Indians who feature in the top ten are Cheteshwar Pujara (Number 6), KL Rahul (Number 18), Ajinkya Rahane (Number 19). Meanwhile, India’s No 3 Pujara has not been in the best of form and that would concern India ahead of the first Test. Also, KL Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane have to prove a point to cement their spot in the whites. While cloud hovers over KL Rahul’s selection in the starting XI, Rahane and Pujara would start in certainty.

Meanwhile, India has already announced an 18-member squad for the first three Tests.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur