Virat Kohli smashed unbeaten 154 as India defeated New Zealand in third One-Day International (ODI) at Mohali. With this win, hosts India take 2-1 lead in the five-match series. Chasing a target of 286, Kohli along with skipper MS Dhoni made things easy for the home side. The duo shared 151-run stand for the third wicket to steer India towards the win. You can watch the video highlights of India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI here.

India once again lost both its openers cheaply and it looked like the game will have a close finish. However, Kohli and Dhoni simplified the chase as they hammered the Kiwi bowlers. India’s chase began on a shaky note when Matt Henry accounted for Ajinkya Rahane’s (5) wicket in the third over.

After the early strike, Rohit Sharma and Kohli played carefully to save their side from the further damage.Kohli was lucky as Ross Taylor dropped him when he was batting on six. However, in the 9th over a slower delivery from Tim Southee trapped Rohit (13) leg before to leave India t 41 for two. Also Check- India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI- As it Happened

Dhoni then promoted himself up to number four and the ploy worked in favour of the home side. The duo of Kohli and Dhoni then played sensibly to take India closer towards the target. During the stand, Dhoni brought up his 9,000 ODI runs and became the fifth India to reach the milestone. The Indian captain then was dismissed in 36th over with India in a safe position. Dhoni scored 80 off 91 balls as he registered his 61st ODI fifty. Also Read- Mahendra Singh Dhoni fifth Indian to complete 9000 ODI runs

Kohli then continued his show and went on to slam his 26th ODI century. He then added unbeaten 98 runs for the fifth wicket with Manish Pandey (28). Kohli’s innings comprised 16 fours and just one six. Also Check- India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI Full Scorecard

Earlier, New Zealand after being put to bat first got off to a quick start, However, Umesh Yadav struck in seventh over to remove Kiwi opener Martin Guptill (27). After Guptill’s departure, Kane Williamson joined Tom Latham and the duo looked to build the New Zealand innings. Dhoni once again turned to part-time spin of Kedar Jadhav and he did not disappoint his skipper. The spinner trapped Williamson (22) leg before with New Zealand’s score reading 80 for two.

Latham and Ross Taylor then held the New Zealand innings together were going along nicely. The duo added 73 for the third wicket before Dhoni stumped Taylor (44) off Amit Mishra. Taylor’s dismissal brought yet another batting collapse. For just 46 runs the Kiwis lost six wickets and were tottering at 199 for eight. During this period, Jadhav and Mishra picked two wickets each while Jasprit Bumrah and Yadav hared two wickets between them. Jadhav was instrumental in denting New Zealand as he removed well-set Latham (61).

James Neesham then shared a vital 84-run stand for the ninth wicket with Matt Henry to take New Zealand to a respectable total. The duo batted freely to add crucial runs to team’s tally. Neesham then fell to Yadav after scoring 57 off 47 balls. Henry remained unbeaten on 39 as Bumrah dismissed Trent Boult (1), the last New Zealand wicket to fell. For India, Jadhav and Yadav picked three wickets each.