India showed its batting prowess on Friday after declaring their first innings after posting a monumental score of 622/9 in 158 overs on Day 2 of the second Test match against Sri Lanka in Colombo.

Sri Lanka ended the second day at 50/2 in 20 overs at stumps and trail India by 572 runs. They were dealt a heavy blow when opener Upul Tharanga was dismissed in the second over by R Ashwin. His partner, F Karunaratne also followed him back after Ashwin struck again in the 14th over to mount pressure on the hosts.

Earlier on day 2, Cheteshwar Pujara eventually got out for 133 runs and Rahane (132) departed soon.

Read Day 1 report here

Pujara was dismissed LBW by N Karunaratne while Rahane was stumped by the Sri Lankan wicket keeper.

The Lankans started the post lunch session on a promising note when Ravichandran Ashwin was bowled by Herath shortly after completing his half-century.

Ashwin, who notched up the 11th half-century of his Test career, scored 54 runs off 92 balls with five boundaries and a six.

Also read: KL Rahul, Virat Kohli do Dab Celebration After Upul Tharanga’s Wicket

Hardik Pandya then scored 20 runs off as many deliveries before he mistimed his shot while trying to smash a Pushpakumara delivery out of the park only to see Angelo Mathews latch onto the skier at long-off.

Ravindra Jadeja joined Saha in the middle and the duo added 57 runs between pile more pressure on the hosts. Jadeja remained unbeaten on 70 runs before skipper Kohli declared the innings.

Also read: R Ashwin Fastest to Test Double of 2000 Runs & 250 Wickets

India’s batting depth was visible after Ashwin, Saha and Jadeja scored their respective half-centuries.

Sri Lankan spinner Rangana Herath took 4 wickets while P Pushpakumara took 2 wickets.

India ended day 1 after posting 344 runs for the loss of 3 wickets with centuries from Cheteswar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane.

Sri Lanka will look to avoid follow-on as they would want to cross the 311-run mark at least to prevent follow on.

Complete scores at the end of Day 2

India 622/9 declared, Cheteshwar Pujara (133), Ajinkya Rahane (132) | Rangana Herath (4/154)
Sri Lanka 50/2 in 20 overs, FDM Karunaratne (25), B Mendis (16) | R Ashwin 2/38