India vs West Indies 1st T20I at Eden Gardens: India’s regular captain Virat Kohli will not feature in the upcoming three-match T20I series which will give Rohit Sharma a chance to become the leading run-scorer in T20I cricket history. He is currently fifth in the all0time list and needs 211 runs to dethrone Martin Guptill from the top of the tree. Given the kind of form he is in, it does not seem to be out of his range. Also Read - ICC's Gift on Women's Day 2021, Announces New T20 Champions Cup, 4 T20 World Cups in a Bid to Expand Women's Game

Also, he opens the batting for India which gives brighten his chances of doing it. He also has a good record at the Eden Gardens which would help. He slammed the highest ever ODI individual score at this ground. Also Read - Will Rohit Sharma Score Runs in England? Former India Wicketkeeper Answers

Here’s who the current top 5 in the list of highest run-scorers in T20Is are: Also Read - Virat Kohli Shares New Picture of Baby Vamika And Anushka Sharma With an Empowering Note on Women's Day

1. Martin Guptill | 2271 runs | New Zealand
2. Shoaib Malik | 2161 runs | Pakistan
3. Brendon McCullum | 2140 runs |New Zealand
4. Virat Kohli | 2102 runs | India
5. Rohit Sharma | 2086 runs |India

Rohit recently smashed two 150+ scores in the ODI series against the Windies.

Despite comfortable wins in the ODIs, the men in blue will not make a mistake of taking the Caribbean boys lightly in the shortest format of the game as the opening encounter will be played at the historic Eden Gardens on Sunday.

The stats also favour the World T20 holders who have a 5-2 head-to-head record from eight exchanges from 2009-17. Team India had repeatedly failed to overcome Brathwaite’s men in their last four encounters and the Windies ended the home team’s campaign in the 2016 T20I World Cup, defeating them in the semi-finals in Mumbai.

Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (C), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas, Khary Pierre, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Nicholas Pooran

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem