India vs West Indies, 1st Test: India captain Virat Kohli will be leading the team against the Windies in the upcoming days after taking a much-deserved break from the game. Kohli is still the ICC No 1 batsman in both the formats and easily the best batsman in the planet, now that Steve Smith is not playing international cricket. Kohli is someone who knows the art of notching up milestones and breaking records.

The ton machine will have a couple of landmarks in his sight when India host the Windies. Not just Kohli, Rahane will also have the opportunity of reaching a mini-landmark.

3000 at home:

The India captain is 79 runs shy of becoming the 11th Indian to score 3000 runs at home. The kind of form he is in and knowing the opposition, it should be a  cakewalk for him. In the current crop, he becomes the second player to get there after Cheteshwar Pujara. Kohli will become the fastest to that mark.

Fastest to 60 international tons:

He has 58 centuries from 383 international innings and is two shy of slamming 60 international tons. Tendulkar, Ponting, Sangakkara, and Kallis are the others to have done it, but even they took more than 400 innings to get there. This again is a record Kohli is likely to break. The Indian captain has 17 more innings to get there.

A chance to surpass Azhar:

Kohli has the former India captain Mohammed Azharuddin’s record in his sight. Virat Kohli (502 runs) is 37 runs short of overtaking former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin (539 runs) against the West Indies in the longer format.

Rahane’s 6500 Test runs:

Rahane is 13 runs short of the mark and he will become the 20th Indian to get to that mark. For Rahane, this will be an important series after a not-so-good Test series in England, if he gets among the runs here that would instill a lot of confidence in Rahane and he is short of that.

View this post on Instagram

Getting ready for the upcoming series with a nice batting session in the nets.

A post shared by Ajinkya Rahane (@ajinkyarahane) on

India squad for Windies Tests: Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur.