India vs West Indies 3rd ODI at Pune: Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan need 14 more runs to become the second-most successful openers for India in ODIs. Rohit-Dhawan have 3906 runs, whereas Sachin and Sehwag have 3919 runs from 93 innings. At the top of the tree is Sachin and Sourav Ganguly as India’s most successful opening pair. Sehwag and Sachin had 10 century-run stands and 13 fifty-run stands. Also Read - Rahul Dravid Will Keep Team India's Atmosphere Healthy During Sri Lanka Tour as Coach: Sachin Tendulkar

It is highly likely that the current Indian openers should easily get there without any fuss. Also Read - IND vs NZ WTC Final Match Report: Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma Bring India Back But Tim Southee Gives New Zealand Edge by Removing Openers on Day 5

The duo of Sachin and Ganguly scored 6609 runs in 136 innings with an impressive 49.32. In which they notched up 21 century-run stands and 23 half-century partnerships. Also Read - VIDEO: Rohit Sharma's Hilarious Reaction to Virat Kohli During WTC Final at Southampton is a Must Watch

That is a bit far-fetched as of now, but pipping Sachin and Sehwag is surely within grasp and they should get there at Pune.

Meanwhile, India is already enjoying a 1-0 lead going into Pune for the 3rd ODI match. Meanwhile, Kohli, who already has three consecutive centuries on Indian soil could equal AB de Villiers to score most consecutive centuries on Indian soil.

Kohli has slammed a 113 against New Zealand in October 2017 and then he has two more to his name at Guwahati and Vizag.

The South African got this record over a span of two tours in 2010 and 2011. Given the kind of surreal form he is in, nothing seems to be out of Kohli’s reach.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey.

West Indies: Jason Holder (Captain), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas.